Thought For The Day 03/12/12

Standard

Jesus Christ Superstar

___

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Angelo_Bronzino_035.jpg

___

Not all religion is to be found in the church, any more than all knowledge is found in the classroom.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/religion.html

___

I am tired today. That may well be due to the changing of our clocks Saturday night. Did you know that studies show that it takes the human body 5 days to fully recover from each change we make of our clocks? Now I would imagine that it is easier to recover from gaining that hour every November than it is from losing the same hour once again every March! And since I am a creature that has never adapted very well to change, it probably comes as no surprise to you to discover that I am still dragging my behind and feeling a bit like I am hung over from some bender I went on Saturday night. So I plan on a treat of a musical interlude today by posting a video and its accompanying words. I think they will do far more to assuage your spirit today than would any words my tired brain might be able to come up with. So, listen and enjoy this treat for today from one of my favorite rock musicals of all times, “Jesus Christ Superstar”! And a very appropriate musical choice it is, given the time of the year it is in our Christian calendar, don’t you think?

___

I Don’t Know How To Love Him

~

Andrew Lloyd-Weber

&

Tim Rice

~

(sung by Yvonne Elliman playing Mary Magdalene)

~

Close your eyes, Close your eyes, and forget all about us tonight

~

I don’t know how to love him
What to do, how to move him
I’ve been changed, yes really changed
In these past few days
When I’ve seen myself
I seem like someone else

~

I don’t know how to take this
I don’t see why he moves me
He’s a man
He’s just a man
And I’ve had so many
Men before
In very many ways
He’s just one more

~

Should I bring him down
Should I scream and shout
Should I speak of love
Let my feelings out?
I never thought I’d come to this
What’s it all about?

~

Don’t you think it’s rather funny
I should be in this position?
I’m the one
Who’s always been
So calm so cool
No lover’s fool
Running every show
He scares me so

~

I never thought I’d come to this
What’s it all about?

~

Yet
If he said he loved me
I’d be lost
I’d be frightened
I couldn’t cope
Just couldn’t cope
I’d turn my head
I’d back away
I wouldn’t want to know
He scares me so

~
I want him so

~
I love him so

___

To view the video from the 1973 movie, “Jesus Christ Superstar” click the link below

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZIWYBr6IKU&feature=youtu.be

___

 Afterward [Jesus] journeyed from one town and village to another, preaching and proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. Accompanying him were the Twelve and some women who had been cured of evil spirits and infirmities, Mary, called Magdalene, from whom seven demons had gone out, Joanna, the wife of Herod’s steward Chuza, Susanna, and many others who provided for them out of their resources.

Luke 8:1-3

___

http://mandyspathministry-ulc.webs.com

Copyright © 2012 “MandysPath” Ministry-ULC

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Mandy: Thank you for this posting today. You made my day. I love this musical too. I still remember buying the album, (shows my age) and rushing home to listen to this very special musical. Loved the movie version and also have seen the play many, many times. Hope you are doing well. Take care. Love and Peace Leah and Tabby’s Nana

Leave a comment