Thought For The Day 06/12/12

Standard

Who Steers Our Ship?

___

I don’t normally repeat my blogs. In fact, I don’t think I ever have and I have written somewhere in the neighborhood of 450 of them since March, 2011. Some were OK. Some were good and a couple were great. That is the way it is even when most of us don our thinking caps. Not every thought we each have during our waking moments is one of pure inspiration, as much as we might like to think it is, although I must say that I have had a few dreams where I rival some of the greatest inventors of all times with my creative genius! Now back to my blogs. The blog I want to repeat and share is one of my better ones and is very timely. Lately I have had a number of friends (and family) that have suffered the illness and declining of loved ones. Some of these loved ones have left this world while others have recovered. However, the decision for the path we are all destined to take is not our own to determine and sometimes we need a reminder of that fact. Also, I have many new fans of my blogs that may have missed this one the first time around. So here it is, once more. I hope it touches you as much as it touched me the day I wrote it!

___

As Time Goes “Bye”…..

(Thought For The Day 03/16/12)

___

___

A man’s dying is more the survivors’ affair than his own. 

Thomas Mann

 “The Magic Mountain”

http://www.quotegarden.com/death.html

___

There comes a time when all of us must face something that can be so painful to bear, it feels to us like our very heart has been snatched away, as if by some thief in the night. We look around, helpless, confused, not knowing which way it is we must turn. We ask of each other if there is something….anything….that we can do to change the current course of events, and when we realize the answer is NO, we are left feeling impotent and empty and sad. And when this confusion involves the life threatening illness of special people in our lives, it can be nearly impossible to accept that there are simply some things that happen that are completely beyond our capacity to fix and make better. Indeed, it is as instinctive for us to want to make it all better for those we love, as it is for us to draw breath. But like most things that come into our lives, the time we share with those we love so much is finite. And while in our lifetime, those milliseconds shared feel like an eternity, in the general course of what it is that measures time in the universe, the same experience is but a drop in the bucket.

___

Even for those of us who have devoted, what seems like a lifetime of years working with people who are terminally ill, when the chicken comes home to roost, so to speak, all those years and years of education and training and saying just the right thing at the right time, seems to fly right out the window. And then we, like anyone else, stumble and stammer and cry our way through the same exact heart-break and grief the rest of the world experiences. I know. Having been there several times, myself, knowing what my head tells me and then feeling what it is that my heart feels, makes for a decision as fraught with confusion and angst as the one that necessitated King Solomon to judge and decree that the only solution for the two women each laying claim to the newborn babe, would be to cut the baby in half and give half of the child to each woman (1Kings 3: 16-28)! And just as it was that the true and rightful mother turned to King Solomon and renounced her claim to the child, so it is that we must renounce our claim to manage the life force of the one we love, and turn the matter back to the true Father….the only one who is in control of the true destiny of all of mankind. It is when we are able to do this that we really set free the spirit of those we love to seek out the path that they must follow. And sometimes that path leads to the light. And sometimes it doesn’t. But the course is no longer ours to determine. And this is as it should be!

___

Swan Song

written by: Amanda Pierce Bruscella

~

I lie in wait as gentle lips caress my feverish brow,

And lend their comfort to my soul that all is calm for now.

But I will trust my Lord and King with all that is within,

That He will keep me safe from harm as day time light grows dim.

And should my waking be no more, of that I will not fear

As I draw closely once again to one I love so dear,

Who seeks to wrap me in His arms and carry me to my home

He shares His glory with my soul while I sit by His throne.

So fear not, all who love me so, with hands clasped to my breast,

Because I know our time is borrowed and time flies by so fast!

___

What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.

Ecclesiastes 1:9 (NIV)

___

http://mandyspathministry-ulc.webs.com

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry-ULC

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

