Thought For The Day 06/13/12

Standard

Turn! Turn! Turn!

___

http://vertical.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/09/21/seasons_change_4.jpg

___

He who rejects change is the architect of decay.  The only human institution which rejects progress is the cemetery. 

Harold Wilson

http://quotegarden.com/change.html

___

I might just be the worst person on the face of the Earth when it comes to embracing change. Me, “Turn! Turn! Turn!”? Yea, sure! I would rather get a root canal or clean the bathroom than alter my path in life one iota! My life is comfortable for me, like a pair of well-worn jeans, that have somehow molded themselves to my more than ample curves so that even a dousing in hot water can’t and won’t alter their shape one little bit. Why then is it so hard for me to sometimes distinguish the difference between what it is I want to do, what it is I can do and what it is I should do?

___

I sometimes think that I am waging an ongoing battle between my imagination and my good old common sense sides every day. My imagination side is the part of me that scopes out the risk in every endeavor I attempt and when the risk seems just a tad to big, it is the side of me that puts on the emergency brakes so that I am protected from the dangers some of my actions are fraught with. Now when I was young and had not yet tasted many of life’s more bitter moments, I was all about pushing the envelope. In fact, most young people are just like that. They have a need to see just how far they can rebel before the reality of the situation stops them dead in their tracks. And, as long as the risk doesn’t REALLY kill us, this is a necessary piece of what it is we need to have happen so that we can learn everything we are truly capable of doing. Then suddenly we grow older and the common sense side of us begins to take over more and more the coloring of the events in our lives. It dictates the shades of paint we need to use based on what picture of normalcy rests in our heads as a result of our life-long learning experiences. We see with our eyes that grass is green and so when we decide to pain our masterpiece, we choose green for grass. Common sense is safe and keeps us firmly navigating away from the rocks and shallows that might just strand us as we travel.

___

The thing to remember is that we first must have a plan for where we would like to see ourselves traveling and how it is we plan on making the trip. Now for people of faith, there can be no clearer and well-defined roadmap than that of the Bible. We are lucky that God has already given us some of the rules for living our lives in a way that does not just honor Him, but ourselves, as well! We must all remember to look at the moral compass He has given to us, which keeps us heading in the right direction. We must assure that our goals mirror the value system that our faith has written into our lives. If you can ask yourself whether what you hope to accomplish is honest, decisive, filled with integrity, maintains your loyalty to others as well as yourself, and is something that will help you to achieve true satisfaction and happiness, then you most likely will find yourself with a clear eye and an open mind, happily looking forward to the next chapter in your life! And even better, you will be making that journey knowing it is one that God has endorsed! After all, we can not stop the world from turning!

___

To see a You Tube video of Turn! Turn!, the link below!

http://youtu.be/fHvf20Y6eoM

___

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”  

Joshua 1:9 ESV      

___

http://mandyspathministry-ulc.webs.com

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry-ULC

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

