Thought For The Day 06/19/12

Standard

What Values Do You Seek To Share With Others?

___

http://chrisakins.com/wp-content/themes/thesis_17/images/Values2.jpg

___

It’s not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.

Roy Disney  

http://www.quotegarden.com/decisions.html

___

Today I began thinking about all of the people who have made such a tremendous impact on my life throughout the years. From my parents who instilled in the very first values that formed the foundation of instructions for living my life, to each person I met throughout the years as I lived that life, each one added layer upon layer of life lessons that became my character. We, none of us, grows to adulthood unassisted. Unlike many of God’s other living creations who can successfully navigate the days to maturity with little in the way of direct influence from other members of his species, man is, from his infancy, totally dependent upon the others who are intimately connected to him. We do not speak instinctively. We learn as speech is demonstrated by the adults who share our lives during our formative years. We do not know the values we hold within our hearts until they are first given to us by others either through lessons taught by word of mouth or demonstrated by example by those that love us enough to want to set our feet on the right path!

___

Have you ever thought about all of the things that make us special? What are some of the values we need to become full and complete and caring people in our world? Are there any that seem more important or are they all equally responsible for making us the best people we can be? And as I was thinking about the core values that are the most important to me, there are some that come readily to mind although I am sure that there must be hundreds (perhaps thousands) more, less definable character builders that are part of what becomes our very essence! Below is a list of some of the things I tried to pass along to my children and my grandson. You may disagree with me but I’m betting when you really think about them, each has merit for molding us into not just the best person we can be but also the best person of faith we can be! Read them and think about each one as it relates to the way you live your life, and then decide the worth of each thing I have listed. I am pretty sure there are none you would eliminate from that list of important character builders!

___

Appreciation  ~   Belief    ~ Caring   ~  Character   ~  Charity  ~   Class And Grace   ~  Commitment   ~  Compassion   ~  Confidence  ~  Courage  ~  Courtesy  ~  Dedication  ~  Determination  ~  Devotion  ~  Drive  ~  Excellence  ~  Faith  ~  Foresight  ~  Forgiveness  ~  Friendship  ~  Generosity  ~  Gratitude  ~ Hard Work  ~  Honesty  ~  Honor  ~  Hope  ~  Humility  ~  Integrity  ~  Justice  ~  Kindness 

Love  ~

Loyalty  ~  Optimism  ~  Passion  ~  Patience  ~  Perseverance  ~  Purpose  ~  Respect  ~  Responsibility  ~  Sacrifice  ~  Sharing  ~  Stewardship  ~  Strength  ~  Trust  ~  Unity  ~  Vision

___

I put Love on its own separate line because I believe this is the one thing that serves to bind all of the rest of these character builders to our souls. Do you not agree that it is Love that leads those that care enough about the people we will become to instill all of the tools we will need to live our lives as good people? If all of those who added those layers to our character did not Love us to begin with, would they even care enough to want us to grow to our full potential? I think not. Love is the tie that binds us to others and it is the tie that binds us to God as people of faith, as well. Yes, this little word sums up all of the good we strive to share with others and without it, somehow the importance of the rest would lose a bit of what makes them so necessary to our lives, don’t you think?

___

Every Day I Love You

by Boyzone

http://youtu.be/6QQQKJJBJOY

___

But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing. If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is worthless. …

James 1:22-27 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

