Thought For The Day 06/21/12

Standard

Kids Say The Darndest Things!

___

http://image3.examiner.com/images/blog/replicate/EXID11363/slideshows/Art_Linkletter.jpg

___

Yesterday Landon had surgery and, of course, like any good Memaw, I never left his side, once he got out of the operating room. Now the last time this happened, I became too preoccupied to think clearly about posting my blog. And, once again, I feel like my brain is fried. BUT, like last time, I have a splendid solution! Since my heart is totally wrapped around my little guy, let’s have another round of “Kids Say The Darndest Things“.

___

I wrote about this topic earlier this year, when I spoke of an American icon, Art Linkletter, who hosted a wildly popular entertainment show, which aired first on radio, and then, finally appearing on that new fangled medium, television. Without a doubt, the crowning glory of Mr. Linkletter’s show was the segment “Kids Say The Darndest Things!” This hugely popular piece was something I LOVED watching when I was a child (you know…back in the days of King Tut), and I still laugh today, remembering the things that, somehow, managed to EXPLODE out of the mouths of all of those babes!  And so, it is to my little guy, and to children everywhere, that I share the following post I received as an email on Tuesday. I dare you not to laugh! I double dare you! I TRIPLE dog dare you!

___

The following answers to some interesting questions, were written entirely by children!

~

 HOW DO YOU DECIDE WHO TO MARRY? 

  • You got to find somebody who likes the same stuff. Like, if you like sports, she should like it that you like sports, and she should keep the chips and dip coming.   Alan, age 10
  • No person really decides before they grow up who they’re going to marry. God decides it all way before, and you get to find out later who you’re stuck with.   Kristen, age 10

~

WHAT IS THE RIGHT AGE TO GET MARRIED?

  • Twenty-three is the best age because you know the person FOREVER by then.   Camille, age 10

~

HOW CAN A STRANGER TELL IF TWO PEOPLE ARE MARRIED?

  • You might have to guess, based on whether they seem to be yelling at the same kids.   Derrick, age 8

~

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOUR MUM AND DAD HAVE IN COMMON?

  • Both don’t want any more kids.   Lori, age 8

~

WHAT DO MOST PEOPLE DO ON A DATE?

  • Dates are for having fun, and people should use them to get to know each other. Even boys have something to say if you listen long enough.   Lynnette, age 8 (isn’t she a treasure)
  • On the first date, they just tell each other lies and that usually gets them interested enough to go for a second date.   Martin, age 10

~

WHEN IS IT OKAY TO KISS SOMEONE?

  • When they’re rich.   Pam, age 7
  • The law says you have to be eighteen, so I wouldn’t want to mess with that.   Curt, age 7
  • The rule goes like this: If you kiss someone, then you should marry them and have kids with them. It’s the right thing to do.   Howard, age 8

~

IS IT BETTER TO BE SINGLE OR MARRIED?

  • It’s better for girls to be single but not for boys. Boys need someone to clean up after them.   Anita, age 9 (bless you child )

~

HOW WOULD THE WORLD BE DIFFERENT IF PEOPLE DIDN’T GET MARRIED?

  • There sure would be a lot of kids to explain, wouldn’t there?   Kelvin, age 8

~

And the #1 Favorite is…….

HOW WOULD YOU MAKE A MARRIAGE WORK?

  • Tell your wife that she looks pretty, even if she looks like a dump truck.   Ricky, age 10

___

I hope you enjoyed this journey down memory lane to the land of Art Linkletter, 50’s television, and words of wisdom from all of those half pints out there who share our lives with us. I know I had a lot of fun sharing it with you! I hope that you find yourself taking something very important away with you from reading these gems from the mouths of all of those innocent angels! Make sure you take some time every single day to laugh! Have fun! Enjoy life! Never forget that as long as you are laughing, you can’t hold onto all of those worries and anxieties that seem to weigh us down once we enter the realm of adulthood! Laugh! Loudly! Often! And while you’re at it, use this opportunity to deposit all of those cares and worries squarely on the shoulders of one who is not just prepared to bear them but who will happily bear them for the opportunity of bearing witness to you walking by faith, alone. And don’t forget that while you’re walking, laugh loudly the entire time!

___

He will yet fill your mouth with laughter, and your lips with shouting.

Job 8:21

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

