Thought For The Day 06/22/12

Standard

The “LOVE” Passages!

___

http://img.brothersoft.com/ss-image/l/love_bible_verse_107-480×360.jpg

___

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails”

 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8 NIV

___

There are very few Christians in the world that have never heard one of the most famous and beautiful “LOVE” Bible passages ever written. Thank you St Paul for sharing God’s message with the world and penning 1 Corinthians 13: 4-8. This passage is, without a doubt, the most quoted Bible verse used at any wedding ceremony performed by a minister or priest, and when adapted and applied as one of the building blocks upon which you live your lives as a couple, serves as a blue-print for a long and happy life together. And as usually happens in my world, I can’t think about the relevance of something without somehow trying to discover all I can about it and its applications. So in thinking about this particular verse, I began to wonder just how many other Bible verses talk about this very thing. Did you know there are somewhere in the neighborhood of 730 “LOVE” passages? And to my mind, when someone (or a group of someone’s) takes these many opportunities to share such powerful words about a particular subject, it is well worth leaning in and listening closely! The “LOVE” passages include all the forms of love that man can experience and include “ROMANTIC LOVE” or eros, “BROTHERLY LOVE” or friendship, and perhaps the greatest love of them all, “DIVINE LOVE” or agape, which is the very essence and spiritual substance of God, and which He shares with we, His children. It is this love, “DIVINE LOVE“, that gifts us with the capacity to believe in the first place! And so, in the spirit of this one tiny word with such power to transform lives, I want to share with you some of my favorite “LOVE” Bible passages today!

___

Genesis 29:20 NLT

 So Jacob worked seven years to pay for Rachel. But his love for her was so strong that it seemed to him but a few days.

~

Proverbs 15:17 NLT

 A bowl of vegetables with someone you love is better than steak with someone you hate.

~

Song of Solomon 4:10 NIV

How delightful is your love, my sister, my bride! How much more pleasing is your love than wine, and the fragrance of your perfume than any spice!

~

Matthew 22:37–39 NKJV

 Jesus said to him, ‘You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’

~

1 Corinthians 13:1-3 NIV

 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

~

1 Corinthians 13:13 NIV

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.   But the greatest of these is love

~

John 3:16 KJV

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

~

YouTube video with lyrics of John 3:16

http://youtu.be/9L_HrpO6-9M

___

Love has no desire but to fulfill itself.  To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night.  To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving. 

Kahlil Gibran

http://quotegarden.com/love.html

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

  1. Absolutely classic all the above plz will u add me on face bk and i will share with others aswell thankyou godxbless u an urfamily

Leave a Reply

