Thought For The Day 06/23/12

Standard

Thank You God For Everything!

___

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_XV7zjNVy23Y/TT6rTnBMsFI/AAAAAAAABYI/K-i7teqsy4c/s640/gratitude.jpg

___

Thank You God for the world so sweet,

Thank You God for the food we eat,

Thank You God for the birds that sing,

Thank You God for everything!

Amen

Author Unknown

___

The prayer above might just be one of the very first prayers we introduce to the children in our lives as we seek to share the wonders of faith with them. It is clean and pure and good, just as the lives of children are clean and pure and good. They have not yet become tarnished by life’s harsh realities which seems to somehow muddy all things wondrous once we pass the threshold into adulthood. But then some of us are given a miracle. We bear children and suddenly, we are witnessing life’s untarnished freshness through the eyes of those children (and grandchildren).

___

 I was thusly blessed some 28 months ago when a little red-headed ball of fire entered my life! God has blessed me with the opportunity of seeing life through Landon’s innocent eyes. However, I have come to realize something quite wonderful! Because I am transported back to a time of innocent wonder as I help Landon to live his life, it seems as if EVERYTHING that colors my world these days is vibrant and fresh. Yes, like the rest of the adults in my world, I am saddled with the grown up responsibilities we all share. I too must run my household. I too must pay my bills, sometimes without enough money to comfortably manage it. I too must deal with others around me who see things in shades of grey because they don’t have their own 28 month old wonder to paint life with bright, primary hues of color, like I do! But it is because I do that I don’t sweat the small stuff anymore. I am thankful to God for EVERYTHING that I have been given, both the wonderful things and those not so wonderful things.

___

Do you honestly think that God allows us trials and tribulations without their being a divine purpose for them? After all, it is the trials that teach us to work hard and persevere to reach our goals. And it is the ability to successfully accomplish this that builds our character as not just people but people of faith. Did Jesus not reassure his Disciples that although they would be scattered and separated, He would never be alone, for God would always be with Him? And God will be there just as absolutely for us when we need Him to be! Trials and tribulations come with both a purpose and a reward.

___

Now that we have secured this promise from him, why not walk your path through life with a quicker step and a keener eye! Don’t just live your life. LIVE YOUR LIFE! Live life as a child lives life. Look at the miracle that is all of His creation. Let your senses revel in the beauty of everything that surrounds you. Today look for a rose-bush in bloom and inhale the delicate fragrance. Walk by the neighborhood pond and try skipping a stone. Wash your car and then make funny faces in the shiny glass of sparkling windows. Or don’t wash your car and draw a smiley face in the dusty surface of the trunk! Tonight take a walk at dusk and make a wish upon the first star (or planet) you spy! Yes, come down to earth at some point and pay the electric bill, but don’t stay grounded and sensible for too long. Life is too short and the time to live it is now!

___

2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith   produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

James 1: 2-4 NIV

~

24 There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God.

Ecclesiastes 2:24 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

