Thought For The Day 07/16/12

Standard

Family…..Bound By The Crimson Tie

___

Christina and her parents….my brother Hal and sister-in-law, Marie

___

Our most basic instinct is not for survival but for family.  Most of us would give our own life for the survival of a family member, yet we lead our daily life too often as if we take our family for granted. 

Paul Pearshall

http://quotegarden.com/family.html

___

My brother and his family are down here for a vacation. The reason they are visiting now is multifold. First, they came to be part of the Golf Tournament Dan and I co-chaired which was held yesterday. My brother played golf with my dad which was invaluable because I wanted my dad to be able to enjoy the day playing with someone he knew instead of alone with a 3-some of strangers and because my dad is about to celebrate his 85th birthday in 2 weeks and we are in SC where cooling summer breezes are not the norm, I felt better knowing someone who knows him as well as I do would be watching over him.  Second, I needed help with the part I was doing yesterday and my daughter Sabrina, Marie, my sister-in-law and my niece, Christina were indispensable. No matter how you sugar coat it, grunt work is still grunt work and there is a lot of grunt work involved in a charity event that no one who is enjoying the festivities ever sees. And third, this Friday heralds my baby brother’s 50th birthday and I am thrilled that we all will be able to celebrate that milestone together!

___

I had written on April 7th, when my brother-in-law, Bill Yonker passed away, about the crimson cord that binds the hearts of people, and especially family, together as one. I wrote about the fact the it was not blood that colored it red but was, instead, the life force of our collective hearts and of the love we each feel for each other, that colors it that vibrant shade of red. And while you generally do not choose your family, remaining close to them is by choice, and is a choice to be embraced and cherished! We are never promised a tomorrow and it is because of this one absolute that we should live, laugh and love as much as we can with all of those who hold a special place in our hearts. And this applies most especially to family, especially when that family lives hundreds of miles apart from each other!

___

 From the moment God directed Adam and Eve to go forth and multiply, the importance of the family dynamic was forever imprinted into the heart of the human race. It is revealed time and time again in the Scripture that the family concept was formed and given life by the mind of God, beginning in the Old Testament in Genesis (1:28) where it is clear that God blessed the union of the two, and continues to the end. Paul in Ephesians (3:14-15) commented, “I bow my knees unto the Father of our  Lord Jesus Christ, from whom the whole family in Heaven and earth is named.” Family is not just a social concept, established for something as rudimentary as companionship for the inherently social creature that man is. Nor is it a political or an ethical concept despite the attempts made to define what constitute’s a family by people who think they know the answer. Family, was, is, and always will be a divine concept, based solely on the love of hearts bound by that crimson cord!

___

8 But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.

1 Timothy 5:8 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

