Thought For The Day 07/20/12

Standard

The Miracle (and Nightmare) of Social Media

___

a portrait of

Jane Kelly Durham

02/22/64 ~ 07/03/12

_

portrait drawn by

Danielle N Calhoun

http://www.facebook.com/#!/LadySheaSmallWolf

___

There are times when, the elements being in unusual commotion, those who are
bent on daring enterprises, or agitated by great thoughts, whether of good or
evil, feel a mysterious sympathy with the tumult of nature, and are roused into
corresponding violence.  In the midst of thunder, lightning, and storm, many
tremendous deeds have been committed; men, self-possessed before, have given a
sudden loose to passions they could no longer control.  The demons of wrath and
despair have striven to emulate those who ride the whirlwind and direct the
storm; and man, lashed into madness with the roaring winds and boiling waters,
has become for the time as wild and merciless as the elements themselves. 

Charles Dickens

Barnaby Rudge

http://www.quotegarden.com/weather.html

___

I marvel at the miracle that is Social Media and Facebook, in particular. It unites families separated sometimes by thousands of miles. It reunites old friends once thought lost to the years. It forges friendships with the unlikeliest of people sometimes a half a world apart. And it forever unites the hearts of all of these individuals, one with the other. But, with the miracle comes the nightmare that is Social media and Facebook, in particular. Friendships forged through common interests in something like animals or even faith sometimes turns into a nightmare when we discover that people who appear gentle and kind and caring on the surface suddenly morphing into some black-hearted soul bent on nothing more than the total annihilation of a person, or group of people, simply because they look, behave or believe differently. The resulting chaos diminishes self-esteem and erodes self-confidence until, finally, the victim of the assault is nothing more than a quivering, fear filled shell of a person who questions everything they once loved about their lives.

___

This has caused me lately to find myself, through my response to the behaviors of these people, suddenly bearing on my own shoulders, the mantle of one of the Seven Deadly Sins……

WRATH noun

~

1: strong vengeful anger or indignation
2: retributory punishment for an offense or a crime : divine chastisement

___

Now while I actually am disgusted that I have been compelled to feel this way by the actions of others, I am less upset at those upon whose head I unleashed my fury as I am at my own weakness in not being able to be more Christ-like in my dealings with them. They are, after all human beings who have been lead astray by Satan into falsely believing they act on the side of the angels by what they say and do! And it is Satan who has inflicted me with feeling such anger at their actions. That is because I am, just as they are, all too human. I am, as they are, displaying my all too human propensity toward weakness in the way I act and even in the depth of my faith. But, unlike them, I recognize this fallibility and weakness within myself and I am able to ask my Father to forgive my trespass. I am not as certain that those who have acted so badly have done the same. But, I can do something about that and so can you. We can ask God, as we offer Him our prayers today, that he enlighten the minds of those who wreak vengeance upon the heads of innocents and we can ask that He forgive them their trespass even as He forgives our own. AND, we can ask that He remain with and ease the hearts of those who have been so horribly abused and subjected to the evil actions of those individuals. And even though that is all we can do, it is surely enough in God’s eyes! It MUST be!

___
“Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.  Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head. Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.”
Romans 12:19-21 (KJV)
___
Today, 50 years ago, I shouted out the bedroom window of my grandparent’s house in Florida that I had a brother.
~
Happy 50th Birthday
~
to the best brother in the whole world!
~
~
I can’t decide if the bear is eating his hat or giving him a kiss!
___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. This theme keeps coming up for me tthis week Mandy – maybe because my antenae is up to become a better disciple and leave vengance to One who knows all the facts …

    Hurt this week by someone I tried to include in my immediate circle, I have also been graced with protection and that does not escape me. So in mulling over the actions of someone who has publicly prayed to God that I be punished… I have decided to pray even harder for this person because there must be extraorinary pain in someone to so want to hurt another. The news this very morning shows me too the consequences of someone in pain who lashes out on a grand scale and for a very long time after today, Aurora will no longer just be the disney princess that comes first to mind, but for many a place of too many tears …

    That all said, I do not wish to disappoint my Maker or amuse Him by trying to set things right … I have in the past too many times allowed myself to be steeped in defending myself, getting feedback from friends to see if I was seeing things correctly or not and although I keep taking steps backwards too often, I do feel like there has ben an accumulation of strength – a spirit more willing to just walk away … it’s not my place to judge, nor do I need to defend myself for I do believe that Someone is always doing that … but it is good advice to use caution in dealing with keyboard friends … be as gentle as doves but not stupid when giving away our time and our love …

    Thank you for this blog Mandy – this was a bit of a hard lesson, but reading your words makes me feel a bit less like this only happens to me … and I choose to think abuse has been metted out it is because I can handle it and allow God to use it for His plan.

    Bless you and the bday brother!

    • I think I could write a reminder of this every day and never lose someone who can relate! In light of continued tragedies throughout our country, seems like some deep prayer and re-priortization is in order for our country and world!

Leave a Reply

