Thought For The Day 07/28/12

Standard

Women Of Faith

___

Joan of Arc

http://0.tqn.com/d/womenshistory/1/0/y/l/2/Joan-of-Arc-19th-century.jpg

___

The tyrant dies and his rule ends, the martyr dies and his rule begins.

Soren Kierkegaard

http://www.quotegarden.com/perspective.html

___

I saw a post not long ago on Facebook from a female acquaintance who was encountering objection within her own family unit about her decision to preach God’s word. Now admittedly, her family were staunch Pentecostalists. However, I still found myself flabbergasted, to say the least, that there is still this type of bias discrimination to be found in this, the 21st century. Now perhaps I would have been less surprised if this woman lived in the Middle East where women are viewed as second class citizens to this day. But then I began to remember something else. Not long ago, a man was criticizing me for a stand I made in a very controversial situation, even going so far as to tell me that I should have consulted with him or my husband first, as they most certainly would have known best what I should be saying and doing. Now anyone that has read my posts here for the last year and a half knows perfectly well that I answer only to me and my own moral compass for what I say and do, nor have I ever deferred to any male for choosing the path I will follow as relates to my faith and how I express it. My husband is well aware of this. As a matter of fact, that is something he especially admires about my character. Unfortunately, not everyone is as lucky as I am.

___

Throughout history women have been martyred for refusing to renounce, indeed choosing to espouse, their Christian beliefs. Feliciitatis, a Roman woman was beheaded with the same sword that slew her 3 youngest sons. Blandina was placed on a board with others as food for wild animals but her prayers prevented her death. Tortured publicly a second time, she finally died by sword. Denisa was beheaded at 16. Cecilia was scalded and then beheaded. Felicitas and Perpetua were stripped and put in with a wild bull before being beheaded. And, of course, one of the most famous female Christian martyrs, Joan of Arc, was burned at the stake after actually being found innocent during a trial. She cited martyred Saints Catharine and Margaret as her inspiration for her mission. Even in the last 30 years, Christian women have been, and continued to be, martyred for their faith. Remember the four Roman Catholic nuns, Maura Clarke, Jean Donovan, Ita Ford and Dorothy Kazel, who journeyed to war-torn El Salvador to help the poor and who, in March 1980, were kidnapped, raped and murdered by a Salvadoran Death Squad? Another modern-day Missionary, Gracia Burnham who, with her husband, was kidnapped in the Philippines, was made to suffer horrendous indignities at the hands of her Muslim abductors, and while she did not die, her husband did during attempts to free them on June 7th, 2002.

___

History is rife with stories of women who have held fast to their faith and who have dared to not just share His word with others but who openly and aggressively share and minister in His name. And as long as we, the people who inhabit such a very tiny piece of this universe, continue in refusing to recognize not just the value of other faiths but the value of all who express those beliefs as well, men and women will continue to suffer for the faith they hold, both within and without. And so to my friend who was made to feel as if her God filled heart was somehow unworthy because she was female, I say, you go girl! Preach! Praise Him with every fiber of your being! Because your reward for doing this will be great, even if it does not happen in this life but instead, happens in the next!

 ___

 Maura Clarke, Jean Donovan, Ita Ford and Dorothy Kazel

http://morallowground.com/2010/12/02/on-this-day-1980-american-nuns-kidnapped-raped-murdered-by-american-trained-salvadoran-death-squad/martyrs/


31 What then shall we say to these things?  If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare his own Son but  gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? 33 Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect?  It is God who justifies. 34 Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died—more than that, who was raised— who is at the right hand of God,  who indeed is interceding for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?

Romans 8: 31-35 ESV

___
8 Where through all the people went that were defended with thy hand, seeing thy marvellous strange wonders. 9 For they went at large like horses, and leaped like lambs, praising thee, O Lord, who hadst delivered them.
Wisdom 19: 8-9 KJV with Apocrypha
___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

