Thought For The Day 07/29/12

Standard

The Whirling Dervish!

___

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Whriling_dervishes,_Rumi_Fest_2007.jpg

___

If your teeth are clenched and your fists are clenched, your lifespan is
probably clenched. 

Terri Guillemets

http://www.quotegarden.com/stress.html

___

OK, I admit it. My family is more like the Simpsons than the Cleavers in “Leave It To Beaver”. I am hard pressed to go through the day wearing my pearls as I bake Apple Pies and scrub the floor on my hands and knees! I wish I could get down on my hands and knees to clean in the first place, having sacrificed that job long ago to two miracles of miracles…..the Wonder Mop and the Swiffer. We have a messy house complete with messy bedrooms and a messy (very) garage. We have our share of Crab and Powanna, both weed grasses, that have invaded our beautiful Centipede lawn in the yard. And I have a whirling dervish of a 30 month old boy who is trying his hardest to become the next Picasso, preferring cake icing and food products in place of pastels, as his medium of choice on walls and tabletops in lieu of canvas! And I would have it no other way! Ever!

___

I used the term whirling dervish for a reason. Think for a moment about what a whirling dervish is. Did you know that it is, in fact, a ceremony performed by the Mevlevi Religious order in Turkey who perform a dance of spinning in hopes of achieving spiritual ecstasy?  When they whirl, they re-enact a turning towards the truth, during which the follower is transported through four levels….he symbolically grows through love, deserts his ego, finds the truth and arrives at the “Perfect”. And while it is indeed, a sacred religious act, it has become very much a draw for tourists who visit that part of the world! While gaining tremendous momentum at the outer reaches of the body, the whirling dervish remains calm and grounded at the core, thus achieving that perfect understanding which they seek. And isn’t this, in many ways, much like the effect faith renders on those of us who follow other pathways to God? Even though we live lives that are often spinning out of control in many aspects, maintaining a core of faith that a belief in God provides to us, keeps our very being grounded when everything else in our world is not! We can not stop our whirling dervish world from spinning all around us. But we can harness its forces if we remember that we too can find our “Perfect” place by embracing God and keeping Him always at our very core. If we choose that for our lives, we will always know that He is in our heart, in our mind and in our soul! And what could be more “Perfect” than that?

___

 15 So what shall I do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will also pray with my understanding; I will sing with my spirit, but I will also sing with my understanding.

1 Corinthians 14: 15 NIV

___

6 But say ye in your hearts, O Lord, we must worship thee. 7 For mine angel is with you, and I myself caring for your souls.

Letter of Jeremiah 1: 6-7 KJV with Apocrypha 

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

