Thought For The Day 08/01/12

Standard

___

I wanted to spend just a few minutes today thinking about just what it would be that I would include in a little handbook if I were writing one, to describe the important things to always remember as we travel along life’s path. Our journey, after all, is quite a subjective one. Each of us takes into account all of the values we have chosen to embrace for living the life we believe is the best one possible for not just ourselves, but for all of those we love so dearly and who embark on this journey hand in hand with us. And as I thought about the matter, I realized that I was not going to create a marvelous new literary masterpiece. After all, that not so Little Handbook of Faith has been written before by many, many other people. One or two or ALL of the names are names you might just recognize if I give them to you. There were a lot of them…..some 40 of them, to be more precise, spanning more than a thousand years!

___

THE OLDER BOOKS OF THE HANDBOOK OF FAITH

~

Moses is credited for the first five books of the Old Testament: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy which are called the Pentateuch. These books cover creation to his own death at the end of Deuteronomy. It’s been suggested that another person, who took over the spiritual leadership of the Israelites, completed Deuteronomy.

~

The books of Joshua, Judges, and Ruth are historical documents written before or during the reign of King David presumably by priestly historians.

~

The Psalms were written by King David, Moses, Solomon, the sons of Korah, the sons of Asaph and Ethan the Ezrahite. There are also some Psalms that were written anonymously.

~

Proverbs, Song of Solomon, and Ecclesiastes were written by King Solomon, though chapters 30 and 31 of Proverbs were written by Agur and Lemuel respectively.

~

Isaiah, Hosea, Amos, Jonah, Micah, Nahum and Zephaniah were the prophets who penned the books with their names.

~

The writers of Samuel, Kings, Esther, and Job are unnamed.

~

Habakkuk, Joel, Obadiah, Ezekiel, Daniel, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi were written by the prophets’ named respectively.

~

Jeremiah wrote both Lamentations and Jeremiah while Ezra wrote Ezra, Nehemiah and possibly Chronicles.

~

THE NEWER BOOKS OF THE HANDBOOK OF FAITH

~

Matthew, Mark, Luke and John wrote their gospels and Luke also wrote the book of Acts. Paul is responsible for the Pauline Letters which are Romans, 1st Corinthians, 2nd Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1st Thessalonians, 2nd Thessalonians, 1st Timothy, 2nd Timothy, Titus, and Philemon.

~

Peter of the Twelve Disciples wrote 1st and 2nd Peter. John, the Disciple that Jesus loved, wrote 1st, 2nd, and 3rd John and also Revelation.

~

The book of James has been credited to James the brother of Jesus and the book of Jude was written by Jude the bother of James. Hebrews has been ascribed to the Apostle Paul but is generally considered to have been written anonymously.

http://www.allabouttruth.org/how-many-people-wrote-the-bible-faq.htm

___

Now if I were to write such a book, it would not be the tome of the original. In fact, it would most likely be a pamphlet rather than a book, and even then, most likely, it would be a very abbreviated pamphlet at that! And I don’t necessarily think it is because I have less to say about the matter. After all, I have, as of today, actually penned somewhere in the neighborhood of 400,000 words myself in the posts I share with you all every day and, given the fact that the King James Version of this little Handbook of Faith contains approximately 789,649 words in and of itself, I am well on my way to catching up. It will take some time. I am but one, after all. But it seems to me that of all of those 789,649 words written, their intent may be summed up in the 3 little pages that would be part of my own handbook. Now I am in no way minimizing the importance of the Bible by what I say now. Within its pages is a rich and colorful history that has never before been matched nor is it likely to ever be in the future. Its prose as I read it, sounds in my mind more glorious that the greatest of symphonies ever written. But I am a woman of the 21st century and as one who always finds myself running to catch up with the world, the pamphlet serves me well! So read my handbook and see if you don’t agree with me on some level, that it covers at least some of the basics those 40 odd authors were trying to impart by what they shared with the world!

___

PAGE 1

___

PAGE 2

___

PAGE 3

___

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31 KJV

___

1 O God of my fathers, and Lord of mercy, who hast made all things with thy word, 2 And ordained man through thy wisdom, that he should have dominion over the creatures which thou hast made, 3 And order the world according to equity and righteousness, and execute judgment with an upright heart: 4 Give me wisdom, that sitteth by thy throne; and reject me not from among thy children

Wisdom 9: 1-4 KJV with Apocrypha

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

