Thought For The Day 08/05/12

Standard

A Letter From Heaven!

___

___

Our death is not an end if we can live on in our children and the younger generation. For they are us. Our bodies are only wilted leaves on the tree of life.

Albert Einstein

http://quotegarden.com/death.html

___

Once again, I find my heart being drawn to the subject of Hospice. Actually, it most probably never left my heart to begin with. Now I am not just thinking about nor do I refer solely to the family who chooses to allow the one they love to remain in the comfort of their home for the days remaining to them. I am also thinking about all of those who so selflessly minister to the dying either physically, mentally, emotionally or spiritually. And for those who choose Hospice as a vocation, it is a journey as difficult as any that can be undertaken. However, once you find yourself compelled to enter this arena of care, although there will be days fraught with the pendulum of emotions that naturally accompany this mission, you never really find yourself relieved of the ever-present tug on your heart-strings to provide what you can in the service of those who are dying. After all, there is no greater gift any person can bestow upon another than the capacity to comfort and care for those who are about to embark on their final days of life.

___

I was reminded of the specialness of the family members as well as the dedicated men and women members of the Hospice team by something I read recently. It does not specifically address the care these people provide nor does it talk about the process that was dying in and of itself. Rather, It speaks from the heart of one who has completed the journey and who is trying to reassure those left behind that while mourning is inevitable, it really is something for the survivors left behind rather that the one that passed away. And even though we think mourning is felt solely by those connected by blood it is also felt by all who invest their hearts into the care of the person dying as well as their family. It is a story that reassures that all is well on this new journey being undertaken by the one we said goodbye to because dying is not gone. Dying is simply the next step in the journey we all, every single creature that lives, human and non human alike, must undertake.

___

A Letter From Heaven

~

To my dearest family, some things I’d like to say, But first of all to let you know that I arrived okay.

I’m writing this from Heaven, where I dwell with God above, Where there are no tears or sadness, there is just eternal Love.

Please do not be unhappy, just because I’m out of sight, Remember that I’m with you, every morning, noon and night.

That day I had to leave you, when my life on earth was through, God picked me up and hugged me, and said, ” I welcome you”.

“It’s good to have you back again. You were missed while you were gone. As for your dearest family, they’ll be here later on.

I need you here so badly as part of my big plan. There’s so much that we have to do, to help our mortal man”.

Then God gave me a list of things he wished for me to do. And foremost on that list of mine, is to watch and care for you.

I will be beside you, every day of the week and year, And when you’re sad I’m standing there, to wipe away the tear.

And when you lie in bed at night, the day’s chores put to flight, God and I are closest to you in the middle of the night.

When you think of my life on Earth, and all those loving years, Because you’re only human, there’s bound to be some tears.

One thing is for certain, though my life on Earth is over, I am closer to you now than I ever was before.

And to my many friends, trust God knows what is best. I am not far away from you, I’m just beyond the crest.

There are rocky roads ahead for you and many hills to climb, Together we can do it, taking one day at a time.

It was my philosophy and please I’d like for you, To give unto the world, so the world will give to you.

If you can help someone who’s in sorrow or in pain, Then you can say to God at night, my day was not in vain.

And now I am contented that my life it was worthwhile, Knowing as I passed along the way, I made somebody smile.

When you’re walking down the street and I am on your mind, I’m walking in your footsteps, only half a step behind.

And when you feel a gentle breeze of wind upon your face, That’s me giving you a great big hug, or just a s oft embrace.

When it’s time for you to go from that body to be free, Remember you are not going, you are coming home to me.

I will always love you, from that place way up above, I will be in touch again soon.

~

P.S. God sends his love

___

We all have shared in the heartbreak of losing someone we have loved dearly. It is my hope that these beautiful words shared today will be as a balm to the soul for all of those reading who find themselves torn by missing those they have loved but lost. We are never parted from our loved ones for very long. Not really. We carry them within us in our hearts as we continue on with the business of living. We see their goodness every time we look in the mirror or think back on the joyous days shared. And when we have faith and know and trust in God, we understand that we all will be joined together for all eternity, when our earthly days have been completed. However, we also know that reunions will not be our primary focus in heaven. Instead, we all will be united in the worshipping of our heavenly Father with all who believe as we do, but most especially, with those whose love we shared while we were on earth!

___
So we are always of good courage. We know that while we
are at home in the body we are away from the Lord, for we walk by faith, not by sight. Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

2 Corinthians 5:6-8

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

