Thought For The Day 08/11/12

Standard

“From This Moment”

___

Michael Fawcett (on the far right)

As Lead Singer of The Vogues with Wolfman Jack, 1980

___

To keep the fire burning brightly there’s one easy rule:  Keep the two logs together, near enough to keep each other warm and far enough apart – about a finger’s breadth – for breathing room. Good fire, good marriage, same rule. 

Marnie Reed Crowell

http://quotegarden.com/marriage.html

___

I have been so very lucky to meet such a diverse collection of individuals during my 58 revolutions around the sun. Some have been people who shaped the very essence of what I consider to be my foundation of faith while others added their impact in more subtle ways. And the wonderful group of people I went through High School with are among this second group of individuals to which I refer. They challenged me to be the best I could be during that time in the life of a young person when peer pressure seems to nudge, if not outright define, the direction we decide to travel along life’s road. And while my teen years were not without the occasional pitfall, for the most part, I emerged a happier and more focused individual for having successfully navigated those days. And I suspect that the friends I made while sharing my passion of music way back when, were a big part of that. In fact, many of my fellow High School Bandmates and fellow Choristers are my friends even today, thanks to that Social Medial essential of the 21st century….Facebook!

___

One of my friends is a professional musician as well as actor. And while I am still waiting, as is he, for that breakout role to land in his lap so that I can say I knew him when, I know that many of you who watch television shows filmed in the Big Apple have probably seen him on the small (and not so small these days) screen without realizing it. As the lead singer of an 80’s group, the Vogues, Michael Fawcett was a dead ringer for a member of the Gibb family (see the photo above….that’s him on the right with Wolfman Jack). And even more than our love of music, Michael and I shared something else in common….we were both raised in solid, faith-based families. As a matter of fact, his dad was a minister. Anyway, there is another legacy that Michael has shared with us all and that is a talent for writing music. And with wedding season still in full swing, I wanted to share once again with you all, Michael’s wonderful wedding song, “From This Moment”. It was written and performed for the wedding of a friend but we are the lucky ones to have been given the gift of being able to see and hear this wonderful song again and again, through the magic of You Tube. Please enjoy the simple beauty of a very special song by someone I know I will one day be able to say, I knew him when……

___

“FROM THIS MOMENT”

~

(to view the video, just click on the link below)

http://youtu.be/3zi0SzFYX1Y

~

Here we bow, true love confessing…

In the presence of those we hold dear…

Asking now for heaven’s blessing…

For wisdom to see us through the years…

In this holy place, by the Father’s grace and power…

You and I, in an instant become one…

A miracle by a kiss secured this hour…

A bond that’ll never be undone…

~

Chorus:

From this moment we are a family, I pledge myself to thee, the rest of my life…

And I know heaven’s smiling on you and me… Binding us together, man and wife!

~

Hand in hand our heart’s united…

We face tomorrow, our dreams now in view…

Golden bands and vows recited…

Reminders of all I promise you…

I will cherish you, I will honor you forever…

I’ll be here to share your joys and ease your pain…

And where you go, be it calm or stormy weather…

By your side I am home, here I’ll remain…

~

Chorus:

From this moment we are a family, I pledge myself to thee, the rest of my life…

And I know Heaven’s smiling on you and me… Binding us together, man and wife!

~

From this moment…

From this moment…

From this moment…

___

Music, lyrics and vocals by Michael Fawcett

Copyright © 1997 Michael Fawcett

http://www.myspace.com/michaelfawcett

___

9) I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion.

Hosea 2: 9 NLT

___

2) And he took a wife, whose name was Susanna, the daughter of Chelcias, a very fair woman, and one that feared the Lord. 3) Her parents also were righteous, and taught their daughter according to the law of Moses.

Susanna 1: 2-3 KJVA

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. Thank you, Mandy. What a wonderful way to start my Saturday morning. I am so touched and I do hope we’ll be able to share a meal and a bottle of wine one of these days. Your re-entry into my life has been a true blessing. xo

    • I never forgot your talent and what gave it life. I always felt that there were so many things from then that helped to shape the person I am today and I want to pay tribute every time I can. You are one of those, whether you ever knew it or not!

      This is probably my all time favorite wedding song. I would have used it for my own children if it had existed then. I wish people would see and know the truths contained within its spirit. We all could do well remembering them every day….especially the days we wake up, look at the person sleeping next to us, and ask ourselves, “What was I thinking”! LOL!!

      Please let me know of any new stuff you have out there. I have little influence but people from all over the world and all walks of life do read this, and you never know……

      {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

