Thought For The Day 08/12/12

Standard

Gospel Music!

___

http://thebluegrassspecial.com/archive/2010/september10/imagessept10/gospel-news-logo.jpg

___

A painter paints pictures on canvas.  But musicians paint their pictures on silence. 

Leopold Stokowski

http://quotegarden.com/music.html

___

I am finding that my tastes in music, just as my tastes in most things, come to think of it, are evolving. At one time listening to the twang of country was like fingernails across a blackboard to me, setting my nerves on edge and my teeth grinding! But perhaps it is because I live in the south where every other radio station features country at its finest, that my appreciation for the genre’ is beginning to come around. I’m not saying its my favorite but 10 years ago, on a scale of 1 to 10, I would have placed country at negative 100 whereas today, it ranks more at a 5 or 6 out of 10! And the same can be said of Gospel music. There is something so rustic and compelling about Gospel and I am finding that I like this approach to sharing a heart-felt message of faith. In fact, when I close my eyes, it seems to take me to a simpler and yet visceral time when the world was in such flux and yet problems seemed less, in my own life even as the world turned upside down for the others whose roots laid the foundation for what we now recognize as true inspirational Christian Gospel.

___

Gospel music can, of course, trace its roots to African-American spirituals, and spirituals  can trace their roots back to the tunes sung by early slaves. Even as the  slaves developed this new musical tradition for themselves, their life was a turmoil of racial tensions and the hardships of slave life. And it was this angst that compelled them to seek solace in the only way that was available to them. Slaves were given something by owners that was not of their choosing and yet it was a source of strength which they embraced. Christianity. And even as they turned to the Bible as a balm to the spirit, so did it give them food for the soul as a source of musical inspiration. And yet, this too evolved as the years and the songs which were rooted in slavery became an uncomfortable reminder to them of terrible days past, and a new type of gospel was born, And as is the way of all things, they began being accepted by nearly everyone as not just a musical genre’ but as representational of all African-American heritage. AND, as a wonderful form of praise and worship to our Heavenly Father!

___

Click to see the Harlem Gospel Choir perform Amazing Grace

http://youtu.be/aaKf6P2nhKg

___

3) “And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God:
many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.”

Psalm 40:3 (KJV)

___
29) Blessed art thou, O Lord God of our fathers: and to be praised and exalted above all for ever. 30) And blessed is thy glorious and holy name: and to be praised and exalted above all for ever.
Azaria 1: 29-30 KJVA
___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

