Thought For The Day 08/18/12

Standard

Due Diligence

___

___

Having spent the better part of my life trying either to relive the past or experience the future before it arrives, I have come to believe that in between these two extremes is peace.

Author Unknown

___

I quite like the idea of all the new fangled applications that can be downloaded into all of our smart devices these days. We can push and poke other people at the slightest whim. We can add a flashlight to our own mobile phone to light the way at night, perfect for me when I walk the dogs at 1 AM or the time I was remiss in checking the batteries in a flashlight long forgotten in the trunk of my car and needed to change a flat tire. We can send pictures and messages in the blink of an eye to others half a world away. We can turn on the lights in our homes from the driveway before we enter and even record our favorite program from our home television while we are at work. And we can even write the occasional blog, which is what I am doing right this second from my smart phone, even as I am en route to the MD’s office in the car. Yes, there is almost nothing we can’t manage to do from afar. And yet, I must wonder if all of these things are really such a good thing. Have we, in the process of making things easier and more convenient, lost something in the process? Is there a lesson to be learned from the old-fashioned way of doing things?

___

When I was a child and I worked diligently to accomplish something, I was almost always rewarded, in some way, for a job well done. Sometimes it was a tangible reward like money. Sometimes it was a word of praise from my parents or another adult whose opinion I valued very much. Whatever it was, the receiving of it made me feel good and proud about my endeavor. And even more than the attention of others, my accomplishments gave me a sense of pride. I had no need to have another recognize my worth. My own self-esteem allowed me to appreciate for myself the things I had toiled so hard to obtain. And I must wonder if, with the ease of doing things today, we ever find that same sense of pride and accomplishment that was felt in years gone by.

___

Sometimes it seems as if we work very hard during our lifetimes for THINGS. And yet, we somehow fail to lend the same diligence and effort to God! And while He expects hard work from his children, as evidenced in Ephesians 4: 28, “He who steals must steal no longer; but rather he must labor, performing with his own hands what is good…” And yet there are many who believe that saying you trust and believe in Him is enough to obtain wealth and joy and happiness in life. And nothing could be farther from the truth. Yes, hard work has its own rewards, but do not think for a single minute that this is enough to make a heart right with our Heavenly Father. We must invest the same amount of due diligence in honoring and trusting and nurturing the faith that we hold within our hearts. God gives us the ability to trust him. But He expects that we will seek to grow in that faith. As we learn more about Him and His promises, we will find ourselves living in Him, thinking in Him and believing in Him. And it is then that we will be certain that we walk on the path that will deliver us into His arms when we complete the earthly work we are given.

___

4) The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

Proverbs 13: 4 ESV

___

6) For if thou deal truly, thy doings shall prosperously succeed to thee, and to all them that live justly. 7) Give alms of thy substance; and when thou givest alms, let not thine eye be envious, neither turn thy face from any poor, and the face of God shall not be turned away from thee. 8) If thou hast abundance give alms accordingly: if thou have but a little, be not afraid to give according to that little: 9) For thou layest up a good treasure for thyself against the day of necessity.

Tobit 4: 6-9 KJVA

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

