Thought For The Day 08/19/12

Standard

How We Get There

___

___

By reading the scriptures I am so renewed that all nature seems renewed around me and with me.  The sky seems to be a pure, a cooler blue, the trees a deeper green.  The whole world is charged with the glory of God and I feel fire and music under my feet. 

Thomas Merton

http://quotegarden.com/religion.html

___

Yesterday was a day for reminiscences for me. I stood in front of the bathroom mirror and looked deeply into my eyes and for a brief moment in time, I saw within those eyes, days in my life when things were so much simpler. I saw days of lazy play with friends, and sharing a Popsicle under the hot summer sun in backyards filled with clover. I saw games of jump rope with the girls in my neighborhood. I saw the swing set in my backyard when we would try our hardest to swing high enough so that we could touch the clouds. And I remembered how I spent every Sunday.

___

I remembered the preacher standing high in his pulpit, preaching his sermon from a well-worn, dog-eared copy of the King James Bible. I remembered looking at him in awe, black robes somehow mysterious and even a bit scary as I wondered if some unknown “thing” might just be lurking beneath those black folds that seemed to ripple with every word spoken! Yes, those were the days of “Old Time Religion” when Sunday School classrooms had black boards and bulletin boards, and teachers stood behind lecterns identical from classroom to classroom. Those were the days of memorizing the books of the Bible so that we could be the first one to jump up, our very own copy of the Bible in hand, when the “find the Bible verse” game was played. Those were the days when we would re-enact stories like Daniel in the lion’s den, each one of us vying for the chance to be the lion! There were no computer generated tours of the holy lands. There was no entering Exodus 2: 2 into search engines of the world-wide web. There were no power point presentations of the “Beatitudes”. There were no sermons taking place at night, sitting around a campfire under a canopy of stars. We were forced to use the computer God gave each of us….our brain….rather than letting our fingers do the walking across keyboards devoid of human emotion, as we endeavored to search for THE answer to that age old question. What is God’s purpose for our lives?

___

I do not know if the way we taught things to young people was better back then than it is today. I do not know if life itself is better today than it was 50 years ago. In all honesty, I do not think there even is an answer to those things. Times change and with that comes one inevitable absolute….we must evolve and change and adapt to the changes life presents to us if we are to survive and grow and prosper in the world. There is no right or wrong. It is what it is. And the same thing applies to our concept of a house of worship.

___

Church no longer only consists of a place that has 4 walls and a roof and a steeple and a bell. Today’s church might just as readily be found in a strip mall or someone’s living room or garage. It might just consist of people joining together and Skyping or emailing or mass texting words of faith and sermons one with the other. It might just consist of watching Sunday service from your living room via your television or a pod cast via your computer. Or it might just consist of reading a daily blog published on WordPress! It does not matter how or where you worship today that counts. What does matter is devoting at least some time in contemplation of God’s word. What does matter is making sure that we somehow receive a spiritual “shot in the arm” that will sustain us and allow us to continue on with our journey through life’s complexities, secure in the knowledge that we will continue to have a personal relationship with Him that secures for us a place at His side when we are called home. After all, once we are there with Him, we won’t be worried about the manner that led us to that place….only that we made it!

___


12) The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ. 13) For we were all baptized by one Spirit into one body-whether Jews or Greeks, slave or free-and we were all given the one Spirit to drink. 14) Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. 15) If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. 16) And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. 17) If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? 18) But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. 19) If they were all one part, where would the body be? 20) As it is, there are many parts, but one body. 21) The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” 22) On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, 23) and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. And the parts that are unpresentable are treated with special modesty, 24) while our presentable parts need no special treatment. But God has combined the members of the body and has given greater honor to the parts that lacked it, 25) so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. 26) If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.

1 Corinthians 12:12-26

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

    • Rev Johnson wasn’t scary in the least but I remember being very small and being frightened by the blackness of the long robe. I always knew if I could look under it and not see nasties lurking it would be OK! LOL! Times they are a changing and I wonder how prepared I am for it all!

Leave a Reply

