Thought For The Day 08/29/12

Standard

Down Memory Lane!

___

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Susan_Bogert_Warner_002.jpg

___

The church is the great lost and found department. 

Robert Short

http://www.quotegarden.com/religion.html

___

If there is one song that nearly every Christian (and even some non Christians too) are familiar with it has to be the one I’m going to talk about. Originally written as a part of a novel written and published in two volumes by Susan Bogert Warner (July 11, 1819 – March 17, 1885) in conjunction with her younger sister, Anna Bartlett Warner, in the 1860 release of “Say and Seal”. The poem was included and intended as comforting words being related to a dying child. The music was added in 1862 by William Batchelde Bradbury, who also added the famous chorus to the song. And, of course, the song I refer to is “Jesus Loves Me”! For any of you who might be interested, the book is actually included as a free Google e-book (Here is the link to the book with 2 volumes in 1 edition)!

http://books.google.com/books/about/Say_and_seal.html?id=t201AAAAMAAJ

___

Susan Warner was a writer of children’s books as well as theological fiction. Born the daughter of a wealthy lawyer (her mother died when she was a child), her father lost his fortune following the “Panic of 1837” following many lawsuits and bad investments. The family was forced from their New York City mansion and moved to a farmhouse on Constitution Island, near West Point. Because there was no change in their means, both Susan and  Anna began writing as a means of earning money.

___

Originally praised for her Christian and moral teachings, Susan Warner was later dismissed by many critics as overly sentimental and lacking in literary value. Brought to faith as a teen, she and her sister first followed Presbyterian doctrine but later, Miss Warner began following the Methodist doctrine. Both she and her sister held Bible studies for West Point Cadets, who were found singing the song we have come to love, “Jesus Loves Me”, during their military duty. Soon becoming one of the most popular Christian hymns worldwide, Susan was, upon her death, honored by the institution whose students she ministered to and was buried in the West Point Cemetery.

___

JESUS LOVES ME

~

Jesus loves me! This I know

As He loved so long ago

Taking Children on His knee

Saying, “Let them come to Me.”

~

Chorus:

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

The Bible tells me so!

~

Jesus loves me when I’m good,

When I do the things I should,

Jesus loves me when I’m bad,

Though it makes Him very sad.

~

Chorus:

~

Jesus loves me still today,

Walking with me on my way,

Wanting as a friend to give

Light and love to all who live.

~

Chorus:

~

Jesus loves me! He who died

Heaven’s gate to open wide;

He will wash away my sin,

Let His little child come in.

~

Chorus:

~

Jesus loves me! Loves me still

Tho’ I’m very weak and ill;

That I might from sin be free

Bled and died upon the tree.

~

Chorus:

~

Jesus loves me! He will stay

Close beside me all the way;

Thou hast bled and died for me,

I will henceforth live for Thee.

___

There have been some slight changes to update the wording of “Jesus Loves Me” throughout the years and in many later publications, the stanza about the ill child was eliminated completely because it was thought to be frightening for children to hear. However every revision remains true to the intent of the remarkable woman who authored it so long ago. And this includes a recent version I was given by a friend and colleague, Greg Marshall, and although I had heard these new words before, I thank him for reminding me of them just the other day! It is “Jesus Loves Me”, but with a twist, and it is a version that I find very comforting as I am not just growing in years, but growing in matters of faith, as well! It somehow serves to remind me that no matter how old we get and how much we change on the outside, true faith rests on the inside, in the child’s heart that we all have hidden, somewhere, within us!

___

JESUS LOVES ME

(Senior Version)

~

Jesus Loves me, this I know,

Though my hair is white as snow

Though my sight is growing dim

Still He bids me trust in Him.

~
 Chorus:

Yes, Jesus loves me,

Yes, Jesus loves me.

Yes, Jesus loves me,

For the Bible tells me so.

~
 
  Though my steps are oh, so slow,

With my hand in His I’ll go

 On through life, let come what may,

He’ll be there to lead the way. 

~

Chorus:

~
 
When the nights are dark and long,

In my heart He puts a song.

Telling me in words so clear,

“Have no fear, for I am near.”

~

Chorus:

~
 When my work on earth is done,

And life’s victories have been won.

He will take me home above,

Then I’ll understand His love. 

~

Chorus:

~
  I love Jesus, does He know?

Have I ever told Him so?

Jesus loves to hear me say,

That I love Him every day.

~

Chorus:

~

 I am including a powerful version of the song sung with a soulful twist by the late, great Whitney Houston, recorded during a live performance in Santiago Chile. Click to view and hear the YouTube video of the performance. (It is a low definition recording.)

http://youtu.be/uHm9Ggdanyo

___

There is also a YouTube performance of the Senior Version, performed by a trio of talented seniors, Hilton Griswold (singing) on piano, John Wannemaker on cello and his wife Ethel on the organ. I am including the link for that, as well!

http://youtu.be/W2H7gSl9hGI

___

6 These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.

Deuteronomy 6:6-9 NIV

___

 6 Let thy talk be with the wise, and all thy communication in the law of the most High.   

Ben Sira 9:6 KJVA

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

