Thought For The Day 09/04/12

Standard

Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella

___

http://www.swapmeetdave.com/Humor/Religious.htm

___

A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it. 

George Moore

http://www.quotegarden.com/self-discovery.html

___

We seem to be facing so many attacks in our lives these days. Some are by the hand of man while others are by the hand of God as witnessed by adverse weather phenomena such as drout, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, etc. And I do not know whether they are, indeed, a harbinger or portent of things to come! Ask any number of religious scholars or even scientists their opinion and you will find an equal number who delight in trying to tell us, in all detail, the hows and the when! In fact, there are some who hold fast to the assertion that the ending of days is shown to us all by things that are being attributed to the Holy Roman Empire (aka the European Common Market), which fulfills the prophesy that has been given to man in Revelations.

___

Now I am not so sophisticated as to be able to say with any certainty that what they believe is or is not just possible but true. I am not blessed with an in-depth understanding of Biblical history nor of the specifics that seem to act as indicators to some people. What I am is a simple person who knows and loves God and as such, I merely offer a caveat. It is, in my opinion, not the way of the Almighty to allow us foreknowledge of what he has planned for human kind. Mark 13:32 ESV says, But concerning that day or that hour, no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. My feeling is that until the time comes for us to actually bear witness to the ending of times, we are better served by making ourselves ready to meet Him, and living and enjoying all the things that we have been given that not just bring us closer to Him, but make us happy, as well! And with this in mind, I’m planning another “Ha-Ha” post. Yes, I want us to think but I want us to do it with joy in our hearts!

___

A little boy was overheard praying: “Lord, if you can’t make me a better boy, don’t worry about it. I’m having a real good time like I am.”

~

A Sunday School teacher asked the children just before she dismissed them to go to church, “And why is it necessary to be quiet in church?”
      Annie replied, “Because people are sleeping”

~

Attending a wedding for the first time, my Granddaughter whispered to my Wife. ” ” Why is the bride dressed in white ? ” My Wife replied: “Because white is the color of happiness, today is the happiest day of her life. ” My Granddaughter thought about it for a moment then said ” So, why is the groom wearing black ? “

~

An elderly woman died last month. Having never married or even dated, she requested no male pallbearers. In her handwritten instructions for her memorial service, she wrote : ” They wouldn’t take me out while I was alive, I don’t want them taking me out when I’m dead. “

~

The preacher was wired for sound with a lapel mic, and as he preached, he moved briskly about the platform, jerking the mic cord as he went. Then he moved to one side, getting wound up in the cord and nearly tripping before jerking it again. After several circles and jerks, a little girl in the third pew leaned toward her mother and whispered,”If he gets loose, will he hurt us?”

~

“This afternoon there will be a meeting in the south and north ends of the church. Children will be baptized at both ends.”

~

“Ladies, don’t forget the rummage sale.  It’s a chance to get rid of those things not worth keeping around the house.  Don’t forget your husbands.”

~

A true story: the chairman of the Finance Committee declared the meeting could not be convened for lack of quorum. He asked one of the ministers present to lead in a prayer. Tired of the lengthy meeting, the minister intended to help the cause when he prayed: “Lord, we thank you for your Word that says, ‘where two or three are gathered in your name, they have a quorum. . .” The meeting was promptly convened with a full quorum!

___

Rosemary’s sister and George’s aunt, Betty Clooney sings “Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella”. Enjoy this classic YouTube video!

http://youtu.be/QkpQUVdnCDA

___

For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

Psalm 30:5 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

