Thought For The Day 09/18/12

Standard

The B-I-B-L-E….

Yes That’s The Book For Me!

___

___

By reading the scriptures I am so renewed that all nature seems renewed around me and with me.  The sky seems to be a pure, a cooler blue, the trees a deeper green.  The whole world is charged with the glory of God and I feel fire and music under my feet. 

Thomas Merton

http://www.quotegarden.com/religion.html

___

How many of you all think you know a lot about music? Now I can not count myself among that number by any stretch of the imagination! I only needed one contest of the new Facebook craze “Song Pop” to teach me that lesson! But ask almost any young person to give you title and group who performed a song by giving them only the first line of lyrics (and if you are not tone-deaf and decide to sing the words….all the better), and I bet you that they would know nearly every single answer! Even my dad can answer just as well if I were to challenge him with a song from his era! That is because music touches us at our very core and when we listen to that one, special song, the feelings that it evokes are often not just indescribable but are also unforgettable, as well. You see, when lyrics combine in a certain way with melody, there is a rather magical melding of the two into a divine experience that seems to paint a beautiful portrait in our minds and hearts.

___

Now ask any young person (or even an older one, for that matter) what book of the Bible follows Nahum and you are apt to find yourself hearing a bunch of “errs” and “uhs”! And yet when the words that are contained within the worn leather cover of the Bible are shared in just the same special way, by someone who understands and knows within what they truly mean, our minds can envision those same beautiful images we experience from that very special song! The problem is that we do not spend the same amount of time reading and sharing His word as we do listening to our AM-FM or Sirius Satellite radios! And I really have to wonder how it is that we have gotten so far away from these basic components of faith, such as even learning the names and the order of the books, both New and Old Testaments, of the King James version of the Bible? In fact, now that I am thinking about it, how many of us not only HAVE a copy of the Bible but also know exactly where it is to be found in our house?

___

My father is a rather unusual and special man. He carries his faith with him every day……literally! He carries a Bible in his car so that when he goes to church on Sunday or to his weekly devotionals, he has it handy to reference during readings of the Scripture! I must admit that I do not do that although I do have a Bible application, as well as the “JesusDaily” and “Church on the Move” applications downloaded on my smart phone which is NEVER away from me….EVER! And while I am not blessed with a capacity to recall the exact passages in the Bible that relate to every single life experience there is, as some people are (and I will admit that I do envy their abilities), I do know where to go to find the answer I seek because I have read the entire King James version of the Bible cover to cover, and I DO know all of the books by name and order in which they are to be found, having learned them in Sunday School many years ago. And, much like that special song you never forget no matter how many years pass, so will I always remember these basics. Can you all say the same thing?

___

But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever.

Psalm 52:8 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

