Thought For The Day 09/25/12

Standard

And The Reward Goes To……..

___

___

“You’re not obligated to win. You’re obligated to keep trying. To do the best you can do everyday.”

Jason Mraz

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/winning

___

Have you ever wondered just exactly what the reward is that we get for being a Christian? Now I’m just betting that the first thing that popped into your head was, eternal life, am I right? The thing is I am an impatient person. I would like to reap some benefits right this very instant! But try as hard as I can, I’m not really seeing any rewards right now in my day to day life! Which then begs the question; for all that I am investing into my faith, is it really worth it? I don’t know about you, but I work hard to live a good life and when I really think about it, it really would be so much easier for me to sit back and let life rush ahead full tilt while I simply grab onto it’s coat tails, holding on for dear life! After all, won’t I be just as likely to see the light at the end of the tunnel?

___

God knows how often we all ask these questions and He also knows how important it is that we get the answers we seek. In fact, He speaks of these rewards over and over in the Scripture. In Ephesians 3:20 NIV, we are told, 20) “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21) to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” And indeed, most of those rewards are not going to be known to any of us in the here and now. You see, those promises are merely part of the whole package that He gives to us! Look out the window and see the beauty in the world. That is a reward! Listen with your ears at the sounds outside your open window. That is a reward! Feel the gentle touch of a baby’s hand on your cheek. That is a reward! Taste the chill of ice cream or a snow cone as the delicious sweetness melts on your tongue. That is a reward! Smell the aroma of fresh bread or a pie hot from the oven. That is a reward. Think about the way you feel in the pit of your stomach, when you catch sight of the person you love. That is a reward! You see, every single experience we savor and delight in, as we experience its magic through one of our senses, is a reward from God! They are those tangibles that we win in the here and now! And they are truly wonderful, each and every one of them. However, there is one thing that I can promise you all. As wonderful as His rewards are while we walk the earth, what awaits us as we transcend beyond our mortal world, will make those earthly delights pale by comparison!

___

“Standing On The Promises”

Alan Jackson

~

Verse 1:

Standing on the promises of Christ my King,
Through eternal ages let his praises ring;
Glory in the highest, I will shout and sing,
Standing on the promises of God.
~
Refrain:
Standing, standing,
Standing on the promises of God my Savior;
Standing, standing,
I’m standing on the promises of God.
~
Verse 2:
Standing on the promises I cannot fall,
Listening every moment to the Spirit’s call,
Resting in my Savior as my all in all,
Standing on the promises of God.
~
Refrain:
Standing, standing,
Standing on the promises of God my Savior;
Standing, standing,
I’m standing on the promises of God.
~
Click the link below to view Alan Jackson’s video

http://youtu.be/PJ9ZJPIDkis

___

29) He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. 30) Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31) but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:29-31 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

