Thought For The Day 09/26/12

Standard

I Am A Christian!

___

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Thank-You-God-for/111565594632?sk=photos#!/pages/Thank-You-God-for/111565594632

___

Life is like a game of cards.  The hand you are dealt is determinism; the way you play it is free will. 

Jawaharlal Nehru

http://www.quotegarden.com/fate.html

___

Once upon a time I discovered I didn’t like the person I was, quite so much. I knew that there was more for me ahead. So I chose to close one door and take a leap of faith through another. I looked deeply and rediscovered who I am. I am a Christian! In fact, I can’t imagine living my life any other way anymore! I might just go so far as to say that life without God in it, holds no meaning for me. He is the sustenance that feeds my very soul. And even more than that, knowing and accepting His son, Jesus Christ into my heart, was a choice I made and one that has proven to be as necessary to my life as is food, shelter and companionship. Come to think of it, it is MORE necessary than those things. I challenge you all to think about what life would be like without those basic necessities! In a nutshell, think about trying to drive your car if there were no gasoline in the tank (assuming you do not have one of the new fangled modern 21st century hybrids)! You would be no more successful than if you were to try to log onto the internet without electricity or a computer!

___

I am such a simple person and while I am headstrong about some things, the idea that I might have to plot my course through life without the perfect guiding hand that is the one that programs my actions every day, is an absolutely terrifying thought. I would be at the mercy of my baser instincts and I know that I would not like that person very much, nor would you either! However it is through my relationship with Him that I have learned about the things that matter in life, such as being faithful, giving, moral, kind, diligent and trustworthy. He has taught me that there is value in every human life and while I may not always like everyone, there is always something for me to discover about human nature and myself, as well, for knowing and having a diverse group of family members and friends who are an intimate part of my existence! And I consider each and every one of you who share my posts every day to be a part of that group. I would not be the person I am today without your unwavering support, trust, care and devotion and I wanted to say THANK YOU, from the bottom of my heart!

___

I Am a Christian

by Carol Wimmer

~

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting, “I’m saved”
I’m whispering, “I get lost!”
“That is why I chose this way”

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I don’t speak of this with pride
I’m confessing that I stumble,
and need someone to be my guide

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong,
I’m professing that I’m weak,
and pray for strength to carry on

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success,
I’m admitting that I’ve failed,
and cannot ever pay the debt

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
my flaws are way too visible
but God believes I’m worth it

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartaches
which is why I seek His Name

When I say … “I am a Christian”
I do not wish to judge
I have no authority,
I only know I’m loved!

http://carolwimmer.com/about

___

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

Revelation 3:20 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

