Thought For The Day 10/06/12

Standard

 

Let There be Peace On Earth, And Let It Begin With Me!

___

dedicated to

Fr Tom Patrick Power

03/17/63 – 10/05/12

___

http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/st.-francis-of-assisi

___

“I have been all things unholy. If God can work through me, He can work through anyone.”

St Francis of Assisi

http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/st.-francis-of-assisi

___

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light; and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console; to be understood as to understand; to be loved as to love. For it is in giving that we receive; it is in pardoning that we are pardoned; and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Amen

Prayer of St Francis 

___

Becoming an instrument of PEACE! Is it even possible that one person can become this wonderfully magical being that can serve as a catalyst in healing the agonies of mankind? Just think about our history right here in the good ole U. S. of A.! Our history has been tumultuous, at best, almost from the moment of our nation’s founding. Did you know that, we were involved in at least a dozen wars between 1700 and 1900 in the United States and this does not include the 33 odd wars we fought with the Native American population? And it was with much hope that the people of this country bid farewell to the 19th century and greeted to 20th century full of hopes for an era of peace and harmony between all the people of the world. And, of course, hopes for this end were dashed as one conflict after another descended…..from World War I to our first foray into the Middle East in Operation Desert Storm, the last war we fought during the 20th century. Even today, desires for peace seem as elusive to our planet as is a wisp of smoke! And still we long for the day when there will be a complete and total cessation of hostilities! I don’t know about you, but I am tired of the fighting, and the violence, and the hatred, and the bigotry that is so pervasive today!

___

Yes, “Let There Be Peace on Earth” and let it begin with me! Let me be slow to anger and fast to forgive! Let me use my words to create and build people up rather that to belittle and demean and tear down my fellow man! Let my hands do all manner of good things in my community rather than to tear apart the fabric of other’s works! Let me see others with my heart and not my eyes which can so often cloud the thing I am looking at! Let me take from others only the things they freely choose to share, and let me, in return, reciprocate with only my best gifts and efforts! Let me wear my faith openly and proudly so that all will know I am a Christian rather than hiding my light under a bushel! Yes,  “Let There Be Peace on Earth” and let it begin with me!

___

LET THERE BE PEACE ON EARTH

 by Jill Jackson and Sy Miller

~

performed/sung by Empire State Youth Orchestra and Chorale

~

Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.
With God as our Father
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

~

Let peace begin with me
Let this be the moment now.
With every step I take
Let this be my solemn vow.
To take each moment
And live each moment
With peace eternally.
Let there be peace on earth,
And let it begin with me.

~

Click the link to view the YouTube video

http://youtu.be/IxCOrfS_NY0

___

“For you shall go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and the hills before you shall break forth into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands

Isaiah 55:12 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

