Thought For The Day 10/09/12

Standard

Forgiving The Person In The Mirror 

___

___

Never does the human soul appear so strong as when it forgoes revenge, and dares forgive an injury. 

E.H. Chapin

http://www.quotegarden.com/forgiveness.html

___

I began to think about forgiveness today. I think that is because I am going to have to find it in my heart to forgive someone I care deeply about, for something that has happened, if I am to have peace with myself. And while I can do it, it will take a great deal of soul searching and prayer to accomplish the deed. And yet, I have no doubt that I will be able to accomplish it because I know that to harbor resentment and anger at another for a wrong only punishes one person…..ME! Which goes to prove that there is no such thing as a double-edged sword, as far as I can discern. Oh that I could find the same strength to forgive one who truly should bear the compassion from my God driven heart. Who, you ask is this person who seems to be exempt to my compassions? ME!

___

I don’t know about you, but I find it monumentally more difficult to look in the mirror and tell the person that stares back at me “I love you”, never mind say the words “I forgive you”! I know that my heavenly Father has made me the person that I am, but so often I look and find myself only seeing someone who seems destined to step into “doo doo” at every opportunity. I see the things I have failed to accomplish much more often than I see the things I have managed to accomplish! I feel guilt at not seeing the truth of something that has caused hurt to another with much more frequency that I seem to see the times I was successful in preventing pain from striking another! I know that my God forgives me my transgressions so why is it exponentially more difficult for me to forgive myself?

___

 We travel through life and we must deliberately avoid all of the potholes along the way. But to do so makes the journey more difficult. Constant detours in the route takes a tremendous amount of time as well as effort on our part. The most time efficient way to travel would be a direct line from point A to point B. That is, until we fall into one of those potholes and break a leg! Suddenly, we find that instead of being able to continue the journey, we are laid up for days, weeks and sometimes months at a time. But if we had taken care to travel slowly, all the time carefully watching the road ahead so that we can avoid the inevitable perils that await, we will reach the end much faster and with fewer bumps, bruises and scars than we might otherwise have. And then I also remember that just as another shed His blood for me so that I could be forgiven my transgressions, perceived or otherwise, then do I not owe it to not just myself, but to Him, as well, to look in that mirror, take a deep breath and say those words, “I forgive you”? I am sure that to do so will not just help me to see that person in the mirror with a clearer eye, but will also allow me to view others with a clearer eye, as well!

___

EAST TO WEST

Casting Crowns

~

Here I am, Lord, and I’m drowning in your sea of forgetfulness
The chains of  yesterday surround me
I yearn for peace and rest
I don’t want to end up  where You found me
And it echoes in my mind, keeps me awake tonight
I know You’ve cast my sin as far as the east is from the west
And I stand before You  now as though I’ve never sinned
But today I feel like I’m just one mistake  away
From You leaving me this way
~
Jesus, can You show me just how far  the east is from the west
’cause I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been come  rising up in me again
In the arms of Your mercy I find rest
’cause You  know just how far the east is from the west
From one scarred hand to the  other
~
I start the day, the war begins, endless reminding of my sin
Time and time again Your truth is drowned out by the storm I’m in
Today I  feel like I’m just one mistake away
From You leaving me this way
~
Jesus, can You show me just how far the east is from the west
’cause I can’t  bear to see the man I’ve been come rising up in me again
In the arms of Your  mercy I find rest
’cause You know just how far the east is from the west
From one scarred hand to the other
~
I know You’ve washed me white, turned  my darkness into light
I need Your peace to get me through, to get me through  this night
I can’t live by what I feel, but by the truth Your word  reveals
I’m not holding on to You, but You’re holding on to me
You’re  holding on to me
~
Jesus, You know just how far the east is from the  west
I don’t have to see the man I’ve been come rising up in me again
In  the arms of Your mercy I find rest
’cause You know just how far the east is  from the west
From one scarred hand to the other
One scarred hand to the  other
From one scarred hand to the other

~

To view the YouTube video of Casting Crowns hit song, “East to West”, click the link!

http://youtu.be/WyoVJfADlwo

___

“How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?”

Hebrews 9:14

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. I am mindful forgiveness is much like love. Forgive and love yourself first; then your neighbor. God bless You.

Leave a Reply

