Thought For The Day 10/15/12

Standard

What Are The Dividends?

___

___

And this, our life, exempt from public haunt, finds tongues in trees, books in the running brooks, sermons in stones, and good in everything. 

William Shakespeare

http://www.quotegarden.com/nature.html

___

Today our economic climate is slowly beginning to recover. Now for some in our world, that recovery might just serve as a forum for debate, while others choose a different perspective by seeing the economic glass as “half full”. And whether or not you agree with the current policies we have in place from “the powers that be”, I think there is little doubt but that we all hope to reap the benefits from the turning tide! Because the world market remains one of the most combustible in what constitutes recent memory for most of us, I think we are somehow compelled to really examine many of the other things that make up the things we hope will bring meaning to our lives! And from my viewpoint, faith must be a huge part of the equation for us. The thing is that with faith, we generally see little in the way of tangible proof or dividends for the amount we each choose to invest!

___

When I think about my faith this way, I seem to somehow be drawn to the Book of Proverbs for the inspiration and wisdom, especially from the son of David, King Solomon. Proverbs 8:35 NLT sums things us quite well. “For whoever finds me finds life and receives favor from the LORD”. God’s favor…..seems like quite a dividend to me! There is something quite profound in knowing the God’s promise of heaven exists despite the fact that I still have a lot of living yet to accomplish. Which is why I choose to view life as a gift with each new day a surprise just waiting for me to discover. Another dividend, as far as I can see! Which reminds me of another quote I remember from somewhere…..”Hang onto Heaven but keep both feet on  the ground.” God tells us over and over that it is His desire that our lives be lived fully and successfully. However these dividends He gives to us with one caveat. He expects that we will keep his commandments. In 1 John 3:22 NLT, “And we will receive from him whatever we ask because we obey him and do the things that please him.”

___

Seems like a pretty fair trade-off as far as I’m concerned. Is it easy to do? Well, half of His commandments are clearly within the purview of most people. There are few who would commit murder (number 6), adultery (number 7) or theft (number 8). And worshipping only God (numbers 1 and really number 2) should not be difficult for anyone, even those who have chosen a different name for God as He exists for them. (I am one who believes that God takes many forms as He enters the hearts of people of faith.) But then comes the challenging other half of His commandments. You know the ones to which I refer. They are the ones that seem to lurk just below the surface of most people….even people of faith, just lying in wait for the perfect moment to spring forth. They are the ones that include not taking God’s name in vain (number 3) and keeping the Sabbath entirely unto God (number 4). And what teen alive (me included way back when) hasn’t broken the promise we make to God to honor our parents (number 5)!  And I have also been guilty of telling those little white lies that we think will not hurt another (number 9). Now I believe that I am truly a woman of faith but there have also been times when I envied another’s talents, wishing I had been so blessed (number 10). Yes indeed, it is these that most will find springing forth, like a volcanic mountain just waiting to erupt, when we momentarily forget their importance under the weight of the mantle of our every day existence. But, bless Him, He knows that we are not perfect. He knew we would each need that helpmeet to deal with life and that is the sole reason He gave us someone who would wear that heavy mantle that are our transgressions, if….and only if…..we allow Him entrance into our heart.

___

Wouldn’t our world be a spectacular place if everyone worked diligently at obeying His commandments…..all of them? There would be no war or crime or violence. There would be no lying or cheating or even divorce and disrespect in the family dynamic. Life would be so very different. And yet we can not wave a magic wand and somehow transform the hearts of everyone. However we can start with one. Lets start with the one whose skin we walk in and whose essence is our spirit. Let the miracle of change in the world begin with each of us. And then just try to imagine what the dividend for that effort that you make will be!

___

In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.

Proverbs 3:6 NAS

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

