Thought For The Day 10/26/12

Standard

When A Stranger Calls!

___

http://www.123rf.com/photo_7682960_a-woman-talking-on-the-phone-frustrated-with-the-person-she-is-talking-to.html

___

I like my new telephone, my computer works just fine, my calculator is perfect, but Lord, I miss my mind! 

Author Unknown

http://quotegarden.com/telephones.html

___

What are some of the things that you do when your telephone rings? Well, if you’re like most people, me included, there is an entire list you probably employ to determine whether or not you will answer! For example, if it’s nearing election day, most people rely on the caller ID to see if the number is from Washington, DC or Columbia, SC. (I tend to try to avoid those calls like the plague!) You probably also look to see if it’s a toll-free number (or at least a number you are familiar with). Like most people, I am entered in the national “Do Not Call” registry but as you probably know, that does not stop the onslaught of telemarketers and the often strong armed tactics they employ hoping to lure you to their services. Those telemarketing calls are also verboten in many other homes! Then most look to see if the call is “Blocked” or “Private”. Now while there are many reasons for wanting to keep your identity a secret from someone you are dialing, if you are like me, you prefer to know who it is you are going to speak with, so no number equals leave me a message. Even someone I know whose number is unlisted is usually willing to leave a message telling me who they are and why they are calling! So many things we do overtly, in the blink of an eye, simply because we value our time and can choose who it is we wish to share that time with! But do we, in our insulated cocoon of self-imposed anonymity, overlook some important calls that we really must not miss when they are directed our way?

___

Have you ever wondered if you would recognize and answer God’s call to you when it is made? For most of us, the answer to this is no! While there are some whose inner being burns brightly with the Holy Spirit, most of us are just not certain what God’s mission for us is. In fact, we seldom are certain enough of our own life plans, never mind having an awareness of what God’s designs are for our lives. Which is why He has given us a kind of two-way radio connection with Him through prayer. James 1:5 NIV says, 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. And if asking the question seems too hard or confusing, you need only close your eyes and say simply, Help me, guide me, teach me, change me, fill me!

___

Another way to know we are paying attention to His call and what it is are His designs for our lives is to remember that He has already outlined His commands for man through His word! So if we are commanded to do something by the Scripture, there is no need to wonder if He really means what He is asking, because the answer is yes! And while we may not be content to blindly follow all that is outlined, we are given a clear understanding of what exactly are God’s standards for our behavior! Psalm 119:105 NIV says: 105 Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. He promises that He will be there with every step we take and that will be plain in either the confidence we feel that our choice is the right one or that niggling question that seems to pester our waking and sleeping when we doubt. These are the way He calls us sometimes without our even realizing the “phone ” is ringing so the question now becomes, will you take that leap of faith, be strong and courageous, and answer and act on His call to you, even if the number is unknown?

___

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight

Proverbs 3: 5-6 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

