Thought For The Day 10/27/12

Standard

How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?

___

http://media.photobucket.com/image/broken%20heart/tuankietnhc/Broken_Heart.jpg?o=163

___

When love is lost, do not bow your head in sadness; instead keep your head up high and gaze into heaven for that is where your broken heart has been sent to
heal.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotegarden.com/teen-heart.html

___

How can you mend a broken heart? What balm is there to apply to the battered and torn remnants of our lost hopes and our dashed dreams? I don’t know about you all but I would almost rather suffer a broken leg or arm than a fracture of that fragile organ that is somehow the single most vital organ to the survival of the human animal. Think about it. Our brain is probably the one organ that is the most connected to our thoughts and deeds but what happens to the functioning of the brain when suddenly the blood supply which is circulated by heart is interrupted? The brain will die just as absolutely when the heart ceases to beat as can our capacity to love another when promises are forgotten and lifetime plans smashed into a million pieces when the one person we have loved above all other humans suddenly rejects us or causes some other harm to our heart! And while the effects might not cause a cessation of bodily functions, it can cause anger, bitterness and hatred which all can destroy the soul! Now I am in no way a professional in grief counseling or anger management, but I can speak as one who has been there and gone on to live another day. It is in this way that I want to share some insights on things that might just help to heal that broken heart from a faith-based perspective.

___

  • We are really promised in the Bible that He will never forsake us, especially in our times of need. It says in Psalms 34:18, NIV, The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. And so the first step should be to unburden your aching heart and speak of your hurt to Him! The simple sharing of that pain can be immensely therapeutic, even if you are not exactly given an answer that will ease the ache!He promises in Jeremiah 29:11 NIV, For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
  • It IS OK to cry. In fact, it is almost necessary as part of the process of healing. God created us with the capacity to cry because He knows that shedding tears often provides us with an immediate relief of the heaviness that our cares can weigh us down with. And since greater people that us have wept bitter tears, including Abraham (Genesis 23:2) and even Jesus (John 11:35), we are in good company, indeed! He tells us as much in Ecclesiastes 3:4 NIV that there is a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance.
  • Talk. Yes, talk to God, but also try to find a corporeal someone with whom you are comfortable sharing you greatest fears and hurts. Surrounding yourself with supportive people allows you the chance to share your burdens. Job 10:1 NIV, “I loathe my very life; therefore I will give free rein to my complaint and speak out in the bitterness of my soul.
  • Become proactive in your recovery by concentrating on things that you enjoy and are good at. Whether you adopt a hobby or you take up walking or jogging, turning that pain into positive action can go far in healing the physical components of hurt! Philippians 4:8 NIV says it well! Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.
  • Be willing to take that leap of faith I have talked so much about of late and dare to dream and even more importantly, dare to love again! Man was meant to stand and walk through this world with a help meet at his side. In fact, it became God’s plan for man when he saw his very first human, looked into his heart and found that Adam’s heart concealed the anguish of being alone! In Genesis 2:18 NIV we learn of God’s decision that none should walk the earth alone!The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”
  • And lastly, be willing to forgive. Forgive the one that hurt you and caused such upheaval to your life. Then, and perhaps even more importantly, forgive yourself for those negative labels you have affixed to yourself. It is natural to place blame for what happened on your own shoulders. But stop! You are not unworthy or lacking in any way! Give yourself permission to let go of the past and start a new beginning in your life. Give yourself permission to live again! Lamentations 3:22-23 NIV promises us, Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

___

How Can You Mend A Broken Heart?

Robin Gibb & Barry Gibb

~

I can think of younger days when living for my life
Was everything a man could want to do.
I could never see tomorrow, but I was never told about the sorrow.
~
And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?
How can you mend a this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart and let me live again.
~
I can still feel the breeze that rustles through the trees
And misty memories of days gone by
We could never see tomorrow, no one said a word about the sorrow.
~
And how can you mend a broken heart?
How can you stop the rain from falling down?
How can you stop the sun from shining?
What makes the world go round?
How can you mend this broken man?
How can a loser ever win?
Please help me mend my broken heart and let me live again.

~

Click the link to view the YouTube video

http://youtu.be/LEw9PVt9g7g

___

4 He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Revelation 21:4 ESV

___

Daniel Michael Bruscella, III

~

On October 27, 1979 my husband and I welcomed a new life into the world. Red headed and with a fiery personality to match, my youngest child proved challenging and produced more than what would be considered the average number of gray hairs on the head of such a young woman. And I could not be prouder of or love more, the man that he has grown into.

Happy Birthday, to my darling son!

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. This message is so timely for me! I look forward to your daily thoughts-they are a blessing for me and I am sure thousands of others. God bless you!

    • For our family too. I wish I had a magic wand to transform the hurts people we care about cause (me included). We are all guilty of hurting those we love and we have all had to pull up our big girl (or boy) pants and move forward into unknown territory. We can do it when we remember we have love and support all around to help us! ((((HUGS))))

Leave a Reply

