Thought For The Day 11/01/12

Standard

Our To Do List!

___

___

Sunday clears away the rust of the whole week.

Joseph Addison

http://www.quotegarden.com/weekends.html

___

I am finding myself living my life as if I were a perpetual motion machine. I go and go and go from the moment my eyes open at an hour I once swore, at the age of 14, that I would never see of my own volition, and I do not stop until I fall into bed after a last amble with my dogs at an hour when most of my neighbors are tucked safely under their own covers! And surprisingly, much like my answer would be if asked what I had for lunch yesterday, if you were to ask me exactly what I accomplished in those 18 waking hours of my day, I would most likely reply, I have absolutely no idea! And the reason that would be my answer is that, more often that not, what I am doing with those hours really doesn’t matter very much in the general scheme of the universe! I am not a person who will save lives like Jonas Salk did. I will most likely never author a literary masterpiece like Leo Tolstoy. I will never know the fame and fortune of Donald Trump. But I am one woman who strives to live a life that honors my community, my friends, my family and my God. I am not perfect but then neither are you or the other 7 Billion people who share Mother Earth with us! However, speaking for me, and me alone, I try to do what little I can to enrich the lives of others, and that is enough for me!

___

As I was thinking about the hours in my day, I was suddenly transported back almost 15 years to the time when I taught Sunday School in NJ. And while my class was of children who were not yet 10, one of our lessons was about thinking about something different and special that we could ask God to help us with when we said our prayers at night. The only caveat was that no one could ask for anything material. Well each child came up with several ideas enabling us to combine them all, creating a calendar for every one to take home, so that they each would have a new and different prayer for every day! And this might just be something we all can think about doing. That doesn’t necessarily mean you need to write ideas down. What I hope you will do is simply think about what it is that matters to you so that your prayers are not just heart felt but have purpose, as well. And just in case you might want something to think about as you plan for your prayers, check out this post I found called “The Christian Days of the Week”! Another post that came from a friend, I love how it seems to put into perspective just what it is are the important things we all need help with every day!

___

The Christian Days of the Week

Monday – Wash Day
Lord, help me wash away all my selfishness and vanity, so I may serve you with perfect humility through the week ahead.

Tuesday – Ironing Day
Dear Lord, help me iron out all the wrinkles of prejudice I have collected though the years so that I may see the beauty in others.

Wednesday – Mending Day
O God, help me mend my ways so I will not set a bad example for others.

Thursday – Cleaning Day
Lord Jesus, help me to dust out all the many faults I have been hiding in the secret corners of my heart.

Friday – Shopping Day
O God, give me the grace to shop wisely so I may purchase eternal happiness for myself and all others in need of love

Saturday – Cooking Day
Help me, my Savior, to brew a big kettle of brotherly love and serve it with clean, sweet bread of human kindness.

Sunday – The Lord’s Day
O God, I have prepared my house for you. Please come into my heart as my honored guest so I may spend the day and the rest of my life in your presence.

___

And this is the confidence which we have before Him, that, if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests which we have asked from Him.

1 John 5:14-15 NIV

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

