Thought For The Day 11/08/12

Standard

Whither Thou Goest…..

___

___

The sum which two married people owe to one another defies calculation.  It is an infinite debt, which can only be discharged through eternity. 

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

http://www.quotegarden.com/marriage.html

___

Dedicated to the O’Donnel Family

 Declan, Siobhan and Neive

est 11/07/12

___

It occurred to me just yesterday how close I have become to the spouses (and companions) of Dan’s lifelong friends. In fact, I am probably closer to some of them than I am to those I counted as my near and dear “BFF’s” from my own High School years! Now, to be perfectly frank, this is no ordinary group of friends we are talking about. They are, in some cases, people Dan knew from his neighborhood in Staten Island. All of the homes where Dan lived were built around 1954 and the appeal of the relatively “country” setting of Staten Island back then, lured hundreds of families from other boroughs, to Dongan Hills, Dan’s neighborhood, as each hoped to provide their children with a better life. Anyway, Dan went through Elementary School with some of them and High School with most of them, as well! We visit, attend special occasions with them and socialize on a fairly regular basis. In fact, one of them who lives very near us in South Carolina, traveled all the way to Staten Island, unbeknownst to us, just so he could attend Dan’s mother’s funeral services, which ended up becoming a blessing in disguise since the events of 9/11/o1, the day of her funeral, prevented us from being able to fly our daughter back to South Carolina to attend her college classes. This wonderful man drove her all the way back home for us……..just because it was what we needed. And that really sums up completely, our relationship with each of these people. Our friends. We are there for each other JUST BECAUSE it is His plan for our lives!

___

I met my husband a hundred miles away from where I grew up and that is where I stayed once we discovered we loved each other and we knew we would marry. I planted my roots along side of him, and I never looked to return back home, except to visit my family there. You see my life was now forever rewritten as part of a partnership with the man I loved and that meant that even if Dan moved to China, then China would become my home, as well! Sounds a bit like Ruth and Naomi, doesn’t it? Yes, their story is entirely unique and totally different from mine, and yet, the ties that bound Ruth and Naomi’s hearts together are no different from those ties that bound Dan’s and mine! Because they are the ties forged of love and there are no ties that are stronger or more enduring than those that create a family! Our family. We are there for each other, JUST BECAUSE it is His plan for our lives!

___

That is the thing about family (and close friends). They are lives that become entwined with ours by devotion and by love, and often by choice! No two families look exactly alike. They may be the traditional parent/child household. Others may be families where the parents are of the same-sex raising children together. Still others may be families where grandparents rear grandchildren as part of the family dynamic. And others are created by choice, born of people whose hearts yearn to include children and who make that happen, even where there are no blood ties. All perfect families. Family! All there and ALWAYS there for each other, JUST BECAUSE it is His plan for our lives!

___

And Ruth said, Entreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

Ruth 1:16 KJV

___

___

Whither thou goest I will go; Wither thou lodgest there will I lodge; Your people shall be my people now, Where thou goest I will go.

~

Entreat me not to leave you or return again to my father’s home, for the God that watches over all has commanded me to stay.

~

Whither thou goest I will go; Wither thou lodgest there will I lodge; Your people shall be my people now, Where thou goest I will go.

~

And where thou diest there will I die, and with your people be laid to rest; For I know the God that abides with you will ever with me be.

~

Whither thou goest I will go; Wither thou lodgest there will I lodge; Your people shall be my people now, Where thou goest I will go.

~

Thy people shall be my people now, Where thou goest I will go!

~

http://youtu.be/XpLGVRfaR14

___

Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters as well as furry companions today who are suffering from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations.

___

The American Red Cross

~

___
The American Humane Association
~
or by texting HUMANE to 80888

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

