Thought For The Day 11/27/12

Standard

God’s Greatest Gift

___

___

We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly –

Sam Keen

“To Love and Be Loved”

http://sayingimages.com/love-quotes-best-images-with-quotes-about-love/

___

Most people, if asked what God’s greatest gift to man was, would be apt to reply, His son, Jesus Christ. This is, after all, the time of the year when we who celebrate Christianity welcome Him into our hearts and into our lives in a very profound way as we prepare to celebrate His birthday. And for the most part, that answer would receive no argument from me. You see, God sent His son to earth to pave the way for our Salvation and we must admit that there is no single thing that can be more important to the state of our souls than this. He reaffirms this to us in Philippians 4:19 NIV, when we are reminded “And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” Yes, through Jesus birth and subsequent death, we are afforded His promise, which is affirmed in John 10:28 NIV says, “I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.” And then I read my email today which gave me a whole different perspective of the matter.

___

The email I read reminded me of something else. It reminded me of the real reason he chose to send His son to earth in the first place, knowing full well what the ending of life would be for him. You see, the greatest gift the Lord has given to His people is not the promise of Salvation but it is, instead, the guarantee of His everlasting love for us all. Yes, He loved us then and continues to love us today, so much so that He sent His only begotten son, knowing full well His son would need to meet a horrible end on a cross. We know this to be true from reading Romans 5:8 NIV, “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” And in the way that mankind chooses to continue to love others to this day proves that. The Apostle Paul said as much in Corinthians when he reminds us that of all the great spiritual things a human being can do in a world that finds so many behaving in ways that are anything but spiritual, is to spend all the time we can exercising our hearts and sharing love which is “Christlike” in its capacity to care for and about others!

___

This is the story that inspired this posting!

~

LOVE

~

It was a busy morning, about 8:30, when an elderlygentleman in his 80’s arrived to have stitches removed from his thumb.

He said he was in a hurry as he had an appointment at 9:00 am. I took his vital signs and had him take a seat, knowing it would be over an hour before someone would to able to see him.

I saw him looking at his watch and decided, since I was not busy with another patient, I would evaluate his wound.

On exam, it was well healed, so I talked to one of the doctors, got the needed supplies to remove his sutures and redress his wound.

While taking care of his wound, I asked him if he had another doctor’s appointment morning, as he was in such a hurry.

The gentleman told me no, that he needed to go to the nursing home to eat breakfast with his wife.

I inquired as to her health.

He told me thatshe had been there for a while and that she was a victim of Alzheimer’s Disease.

As we talked, I asked if she would be upset if he was a bit late.

He replied that she no longer knewwho he was, that she had not recognized him in five years now.

I was surprised, and asked him,‘And you still go every morning, even though she doesn’t know who you are?’

He smiled as he patted my hand and said, ‘She doesn’t know me, but I still know who she is.’

___

True love…..”Christlike” love…..is neither physical, nor romantic. True love is an acceptance of all that is, has been, and will ever be. The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have. So as you gather close to those family members and friends who mean the most to you over the weeks to come, always remember that we are never more “Christlike” in our behaviors than when we demonstrate and share and live, God’s greatest gift of all…….LOVE!

___

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

John 3:16 NIV

___

Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters as well as furry companions today who are suffering from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations or groups.

___

The American Red Cross

~
Text REDCROSS to 90999
or click
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
or
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
The American Humane Association
~
or by texting HUMANE to 80888

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

