Thought For The Day 11/29/12

Standard

Some Observations…

___

___

“Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change.”

Jim Rohn

http://exploreforayear.com/clarity/45-inspiring-quotes-change

___

For those of you who have been following MandysPath since its inception are probably aware that my daily “Thought” began as a way to share with the world the transformation I felt the moment the Lord enter my heart and MandysPath was born. Over the months, MandysPath has continued to grow and thrive and prosper just as my faith has continued to grow and thrive and prosper. And that faith has brought me to the doorsteps of two organizations. The first, the Universal Life Church World Headquarters did not prove to be quite the right fit for me and I left, knowing full well that He would open that window for me, even though for the moment, the door seemed to be not just shut, but locked, as well. And, as is His way for man, and certainly His plan for me, that is exactly what happened. I joined the Pacific Life Church and have been given the support and freedom to share my message in whatever way works best for me. Indeed, I am certain it was all very much a part of His plan for my new journey of faith to be exactly this way, because it is with each new experience that we grow and learn about ourselves and God!

___

I share this bit of history with you to prepare you for what I now share. There is a matter that has come to my attention regarding the Universal Life Church World Headquarters. It has been reported through the news outlets including Paper Li via SB Wire (http://paper.li/f-1320257022?utm_source=subscription&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=paper_sub), as well as on the ULC Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Universal-Life-Church/147869338562220?fref=ts, that their President has elected to ordain a registered sex “Lifetime Offender”, which is someone guilty of repeated criminal conduct of a sexual nature. The man in question is from Pennsylvania. Now I do not condemn this man. In fact, I sincerely hope he has honestly sought forgiveness from God for what transpired. After all, that is what mankind was gifted with by the death of the one whose birth we are celebrating in less than a month. Now this being said, there are a number Universal Life Church World Headquarters sites that continue to list me both as an author and contributor to their news publications, and I continue to be listed as an officer on their non-profit business documentation with the Florida Secretary of State. I wish to state for the record that I am not now affiliated with them, nor have I been connected with them, in any capacity, since May 4th, 2012.

___

I respect the right of the ULC to ordain any person they choose. It is not my right nor responsibility to be the morality police for anyone. I hope that this man will use the gift and opportunity he has been given by the ULC to do good in a world that bears witness every day to unspeakable horrors. Only God knows what his motivation is. However, it behooves us to think about what this might mean for churches, in general. Never forget that in most states here in America, Clergy are designated as mandated reporters, the same as Doctors, Nurses and Teachers are. And while churches can, and should, play a substantial role in helping offenders return to society, rebuild relationships, overcome old behaviors, and deepen their faith commitment, care should always be taken by any organization to monitor and develop policies regarding the expectations for those who are identified as a potential threat to others. As such, it is imperative to establish a covenant with the individual so that they continue to remain accountable, just as the rest of us are, for their behaviors, both good and bad. It is my sincere hope that any group, whether business or church, who elects to bring someone into their “family”, becomes educated and informed and enacts whatever safety measures might be needed to protect not only themselves but the community at large who are the very ones who seek assistance, guidance and support from someone they trust. As such, don’t we owe it to them to be trustworthy and above reproach?

___

“Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.

Isaiah 1:18

___

Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters as well as furry companions today who are suffering from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations or groups.

___

The American Red Cross

~
Text REDCROSS to 90999
or click
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
or
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
The American Humane Association
~
or by texting HUMANE to 80888

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

