Thought For The Day 12/08/12

Standard

Our Good Intentions

___

513259474_13195159

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/08/23/159921167/good-intention-heartbreak-the-botched-restoration-of-a-19th-century-fresco

___

“In ordinary life, the action of a third party does not free the contractor from an obligation; but the advantage of making a contract with heaven is that intentions are valid currency.”

Machado de Assis

Dom Casmurro

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/good-intentions

___

I am not writing today about that brilliant idea I had at 6 AM this morning! This morning I was jerked out of my much needed slumber by what was playing on my television. My husband had put on “ESPN Sports Center” sometime during the night and so it was the catchy melody that they play…..the da, da, da….da,da,da…. {For those not familiar, here it is! (http://youtu.be/-wpwVlmRAak)} that woke me up. Now if you are a sports widow, like I am, you know that this theme is as grating on the nerves as are fingernails across a blackboard!

___

Anyway, since I was awake anyway and I needed to stretch my legs, I got up briefly to move around. Suddenly I heard the sports commentator utter some pure magic that I knew would be perfect to write about. It struck me like a thunderbolt from God, himself….so profound and perfect, and I knew it was just what I needed! Did I jot it down? NO!!!! I have an iPhone complete with “Siri”. Did I ask her to write me a memo? NO!!!! What did I do? I went back to sleep and promptly forgot what that moment of sheer brilliance was! Like so many things in my life, this too has become a part of those things I have wryly come to know as a once good intention now forever lost. And as the saying goes, “the road to Hell is paved with good intentions”! Good intentions are never enough…..it is what we do that counts!

___

Interestingly, it is not God we need to allow to witness those things we know of as our good intentions. God knows the truth of the matter already and whether or not we are true with what we tell or share with others is not a surprise to Him. It is to people where we need to prove that we have the heart to back up the words we say and the promises we make! How often do we offer up our assistance to another in some way? Is there some deed that is in need of doing for another? Yes, we have the best of intentions that we will find the energy or the patience or the time to accomplish the thing. But if we do not carry through with the deed, then all of the good intentions in the universe might not make up for the hurt or disappointment or pain that we cause another.

___

How do others know how good a friend or person we are unless we act in some way to show it? Now I am not referring to those opportunities we missed because of a valid reason. We can not help it if we develop a fever or if we have a flat tire on our car. These things might not make up for our failure to follow through on something that was much needed, but they are beyond our capacity to control, under most circumstances. However, letting time fly by or simply getting so busy that we forget the promises we made is an entirely different matter. And like the regret I feel at not having jotted down something that I should have, it is regret that is often the result of our failure to follow through on those things we intended to do. And regrets can sometimes burden us for a lifetime! Now I don’t know about you all, but I would rather not become the person who had the opportunity to cure cancer….or a broken heart….and didn’t….just because I forgot to do what was right, and follow through and act on my intentions!

___

Good Intentions

Randy Travis

http://youtu.be/y74-ZikQRNI

~

Mama always prayed that I’d be a better man than daddy

And I determined not to let her down

Deserted by the man she loved and left to raise four children

We were the local gossip of the town.
~

I promised her that I’d live right and not be like the others

But I wound up in jail on chrismas day I told her

I’d be home and not to worry ’bout my brothers

When I got home my mom had passed away

~
(chorus)
And I hear tell the road to hell is paved with good intentions

And mama my intentions were the best

There’s lotsa things in my life I just as soon not mention

Looks like I’ve turned out like all the rest

But mama my intentions were the best

~
A little boy with big blue eyes a-beggin’ to go fishing

I promised him but never took the time

Now they won’t let me see him and I sit here a-wishing

Wishin’ I could hold him one more time

~
(chorus)

And I hear tell the road to hell is paved with good intentions

And mama my intentions were the best

There’s lotsa things in my life I just as soon not mention

Looks like I’ve turned out like all the rest

But mama my intentions were the best

~

But mama my intentions were the best

___

15 Simon Peter and another disciple were following Jesus. Because this disciple was known to the high priest, he went with Jesus into the high priest’s courtyard, 16 but Peter had to wait outside at the door. The other disciple, who was known to the high priest, came back, spoke to the servant girl on duty there and brought Peter in.

17 “You aren’t one of this man’s disciples too, are you?” she asked Peter.

He replied, “I am not.”

John 18: 15-17 NIV

___

During this most blessed season of the year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters as well as furry companions today who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations or groups.

___

The American Red Cross

~
Text REDCROSS to 90999
or click
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
or
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
The American Humane Association
~
or by texting HUMANE to 80888

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

