Thought For The Day 12/12/12

Standard

Music Hath Charms

___

music hath charms

___

Music hath charms to soothe the savage breast,
To soften rocks, or bend a knotted oak.

William Congreve

The Mourning Bride. Act i. Sc. 1

http://www.bartleby.com/100/212.html

___

“If music hath charms…”, as the famous saying goes, then I need those charms today. I need a shower of those charms! I need to soak in a bath of those charms with bubbles up to my eyeballs!!!

___

To say that last night was an adventure in child rearing that I had long ago forgotten existed would be an understatement. Just when you think you’ve seen it all, a toddler will do the “darndest thing”! Case in point: Landon spent the night but he also decided sleep was going to elude him. And Grandma, unable to keep her eyes open, did what all grandmas will…she pointed her finger and told him he was not to leave his bed. And I slept! About an hour and a half later, Landon was in our room trying to climb into bed. So after putting Disney on TV, I looked at him and realized he was glistening……from the top of his head to the bottom of his feet he was glowing! His pajamas shone, his hair shone, his skin shone…..he was positively awash in a heavenly light! And I knew that something was amiss!

___

Investigation led me to the source of that heavenly light…..he had gotten into a full, giant-sized jar of petroleum jelly which was now completely empty of its contents! And, of course, since he is a toddler and there is not a single toddler alive that ever really listens to the adults in their life, that glistening petroleum was everywhere in the house! His bed, pillow, stuffed animals, walls in his bedroom, my new leather couch and the wall leading into my bedroom were all awash with the same twinkling, star-like glow, that Landon was. It was as if everything had been painted by the angels, themselves.

___

Needless to say, I was up for a time cleaning not just him, but the house too. The daunting task continues into the daylight as I enlist the assistance of a friend to help me rid every surface in the house that was affected by this very special gift from my grandson. Only time will tell if we are successful. I do know that in the light of day, Landon’s skin is baby soft and his hair remains well-conditioned, as evidenced by the beam of sunlight that blinded me as it was reflected off his head as he headed to daycare this morning. But, you want to know something else? I just think this is the greatest thing to happen since the invention of fast food restaurants! You see, it shows me that this little guy is smart (just getting the lid off of petroleum jelly can be daunting for an adult), that he is sensitive to his environment (after all, who doesn’t like the feel of something squishy and slippery), that he is an independent thinker (choosing to defy grandma’s edict to stay in his room is proof positive of that) and that he has the innocent faith of a child (he came into my room most probably knowing that he had done something he shouldn’t have, but he trusted and had faith that I would still love him all the same…which I do)!

___

Sometimes it is the littlest and most unusual reminders we are given that help us to remember that we are not the ones that control  most of the things that happen in our lives! If we did, I wonder that we would have so many adventures and opportunities of learning those important life lessons that we need to keep us both humbled and thankful! And that is the reminder that I am choosing to embrace from last night’s little adventure in babysitting from my little blessing that God gifted our family with almost 3 years ago!

___

However, I still need some soothing and so, as I promised, I am going to share some of the magical charms of some special Christmas music. “These Make The Season” was both written and performed by my friend from High School, singer/songwriter Michael Fawcett. He may have been my nemesis for all the grand singing roles back in the late 60’s and early 70’s, but today he is my very dear friend and is someone who also happens to be a devout Christian!

http://youtu.be/30nd8EqGDb0

___

(To view the rest of his video collection just visit http://www.youtube.com/user/michaelf12)

___

During this most blessed season of the year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters  who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following group. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about this Christmas!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

  1. Oh my, what a story. I can’t even imagine. Riley found some fun mud at the park yesterday, which high-jacked part of my day into a bath and then the necessary cleanup of the bathroom, but petroleum jelly?!? You handled that very well. Glad to have a hand (or a voice) in your recovery.

Leave a Reply

