Thought For The Day 12/14/12

Standard

The Christmas Angel

___

Christmas Angel

___

“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.” 

Mother Teresa

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/giving

___

During the holiday season, we spend so much time on our “gift giving”. During this time, we want to share God’s blessings with our near and dear, and so we search and we search for just the perfect thing to give. Now perfect does not necessarily mean expensive! For some, the perfect gift might just be baking a favorite delectable that that they enjoyed as a child, or writing a promissory note to a loved one that you will take out the garbage, and then remembering to actually do it week after week after week! For those who have received a lifetime’s worth of blessings, it if often the simplest things that give the most joy! But for some whose goal every day is to have something to eat or a warm pair of socks, sometimes more is needed!

___

Here locally, we have “giving trees” everywhere the eye can see. From church sanctuaries to schools to malls, trees are festively decorated with the names of thousands of children who are in need of their very own “Christmas Angel”! Most of the festive tags include a child’s name, their age, and their clothing and shoe size. Seeing these hundreds of names always brings a tear to my eye, and I am suddenly humbled with gratitude for all of the blessings I have been bestowed with throughout my life. I am also so very thankful that I was among the lucky ones that was able to give Christmas to my children. And so I carefully look, and I reverently select a name or two from the tree.

___

Imagine if you will, one child awakening Christmas morning to a day like all the others. Perhaps the house is warm…maybe not! Perhaps they even have a house…maybe not! Maybe there is cereal in the cubbard…maybe not! Perhaps they have clean clothes…maybe not! These are children who know this day is supposed to be different. They hear their classmates talk in awe of things they expect to find when they awaken on Christmas morning. But these children have never known that kind of magic!

___

I shopped yesterday. This year I chose a boy and a girl, ages 8 and 9. Although I do not think these kids will mind that they have gotten clothes and shoes, I still pick a small, fun thing to go in each bag. I smile as I go through the clothing racks. I envision in my head what other kids their age wear to school. A child shopping with his dad will be my reviewer. I hold up a boy’s shirt and ask him if he thinks it’s cool and would wear it. He nods yes and I know I’ve hit a home run! Girl’s clothes I know more about, having been one myself, even though it may have been when dinosaurs roamed the earth! I get home and each set of purchases goes in a Christmas bag I chose especially for each child, complete with their name and a tag that reads, from Santa. I wonder what their faces will look like when they open them and I cry because I feel so blessed!

___

Now I realize that giving really does not need to be announced to the world. In fact, Matthew 6:3-4 NIV tells us as much!  “3) But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, 4) so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” I have been a “Christmas Angel” for a number of years now and I have never shared that fact with anyone, not even my husband! But I decided to do so today because I want to inspire you all to think about what kind of difference you can make this year, in the life of another. It need not be a child, although in my opinion, the innocence of childhood is lost at far too young an age, for so many who struggle through a life of poverty. All I hope is that you all experience for the first time, the magic of those words, “it is more blessed to give than to receive”, because if you do, I promise you won’t ever want to stop being a “Christmas Angel” in the life of another!

___

35 In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”

Acts 20:35 NIV

___

During this most blessed season of the year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters  who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about this Christmas!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

