Thought For The Day 12/17/12

Standard

Why Is The Law Not Always The Law?

___

Moses with the 10 commamdments

Moses with the Ten Commandments by Rembrandt

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Rembrandt_Harmensz._van_Rijn_079.jpg

___

God  and Nature first made us what we are, and then out of our own created genius we  make ourselves what we want to be. Follow always that great law. Let the sky and  God be our limit and Eternity our measurement.

Marcus Garvey

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/law.html

___

I am a person who is always curious about the rules of something. I think that is because of my “Obsessive Compulsive” side which seems to dictate to me that to operate in the most efficient manner, things need to be maintained in some type of order. And for me, that applies to my belongings, my daily routine and my faith. Now this may well be my way of compensating for the fact that I have a mind like a sieve, which is the bane of my very existence! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again….one day if you fail to read one of my thoughts, it may be because Dan got mad about something and decided to drop me off in the backwoods somewhere, and I couldn’t find my way home! Now you are laughing….I know because I can hear you all the way here in South Carolina….but like it or not, it remains an undisputed fact that I am hopelessly forgetful! Which is why when it comes to some of those absolutes of my faith that I hold dear, I tend to be a bit of a stick in the mud about following most of the rules! Now I will be the first to admit that there are some things that most probably made more sense in days of yore…when they were first given to man. Nevertheless, there is a tremendous amount that can be learned about the way we life today, by remembering that there are absolutes about accepted and acceptable behavior for man that are exactly the same today as they were 5,000 years ago!

___

Humankind had always needed the companionship of other humans. The fact that the survival of the species is dependant on procreation aside, man by his very nature was meant to interact and bond with others like him. However, man has always been of the mind that he, and only he, knows what is best for his life and, by association, what must be best for those around him. And, of course, when everyone thinks they know best, disputes are bound to happen until suddenly, violence erupts within the community. Which is why laws are needed to guarantee a state of harmony and détente. And this need is no different today than it was when Moses carried the tablets from the top of Mt Sinai. Yes, God wrote with His very finger, His expectations for man’s behavior, and it became law. And interestingly, those first laws have continued throughout the ages to set the tone for many of the laws that societies have adopted to assure the smooth running of their affairs, even today! We read in Deuteronomy 28:15, “But it shall come to pass, if thou wilt not hearken unto the voice of the LORD thy God, to observe to do all his commandments and his statutes which I command thee this day; that all these curses shall come upon thee, and overtake thee”, and indeed, breaking the laws of 21st Century man often results in the most dire of consequences just as breaking the laws given to Moses did when the children of Israel wandered, seeking the promised land!

___

Now there are always the exceptions to the rule. For example, today I am preaching to you in my own way, through the words of this post, despite the fact that the Bible tells us that women are forbidden to speak in church!  Yes, it was the law of the time! All you need do is read I Corinthians 14:34-35 which was written by the Apostle Paul! “Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law. And if they will learn any thing, let them ask their husbands at home: for it is a shame for women to speak in the church.”. This is an example of how the changing times has served to alter one absolute, just as society has altered the expectations we hold for both ourselves and our faith! I wonder how many of you were also aware that the festive trees which Christians decorate every December, are forbidden in the following Bible passage found in Jeremiah 10:2-5. “Thus saith the LORD, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them. For the customs of the people are vain: for one cutteth a tree out of the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with the axe. They deck it with silver and with gold; they fasten it with nails and with hammers, that it move not. They are upright as the palm tree, but speak not: they must needs be borne, because they cannot go. Be not afraid of them; for they cannot do evil, neither also is it in them to do good.” Another law whose time has come and gone, just as the turning calendar pages have served to herald the coming of a new age!

___

There are some Fundamentalists out there who hold that there are no shades of “grey” when it comes to truth in the Bible. They hold that we must all accept every word as a literal interpretation of what we must do and how we must behave. However, that is the same thing as saying that we must allow someone to die of an infection that is easily managed with an antibiotic created during the last century because that was not the way it was done during the time of Abraham and Isaac and Jacob! And while I can understand their need for these absolutes, because I myself am a creature that looks to absolutes for my own life, I also hold that God has gifted man with the capacity to dream and to think and to work toward making the world a better place. And is that not the gift we have been given by living in this age of modern technology? If God wanted man’s life to be otherwise, wouldn’t He have taken measures to prevent initiative and curiosity, instead of gifting us with these strengths?

___

During this most blessed season of the year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about this Christmas!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

