Thought for The Day 12/22/12

Standard

Still Here? OK, What’s Next?

___

what's next

http://www.csmonitor.com/

___

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.

Eleanor Roosevelt

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/next.html

___

Since you all are reading this, I guess you already know that the Mayans made a HUGE Booboo! Then again, for people of faith, this was no surprise since we know that only the Almighty has knowlege of when and how each soul will be called to judgement. Now I hope that you were optimistic enough about the liklihood that mankind would be here today to witness the sun rising that you did not forgo paying your bills nor did you make a decision to rid yourself of all of your worldly posessions! If you did, you may well be scrambling to rebuild your lives today! Yes, not everyone in the world may have emerged from this trial of the “Mayan’s 12/21/12” unscathed, but I believe the vast majority of you opted to rely on your faith and what your hearts told you would be the outcome.

___

Our faith teaches us that it is His course for the journey of life we each travel that matters rather than one we set ourselves, although He also expects that we be willing to begin the journey ourselves….one step at a time! I hope that you all are leading lives that work for you and provide you with much more than the simple act of breathing! I hope that you have a chosen a mission or purpose for your existence. But should you feel that this scare has brought you to a crossroads, and that there are changes you want to effect for the life you are leading, do you know which way you will turn? Will you choose a path that leads nowhere, or will you actively seek to discover a new direction for the life you are leading? What things will help you to decide?

___

I was able to give the matter some thought as I spent the last 10+ hours in the car enroute to Staten Island, where we are celebrating Christmas with my son and daughter-in-law for the first time in nearly 12 years….a celebratory visit that is long overdue! But riding in a car and having an opportunity for some meaningful reflection undisturbed by many of the influences that face us at home every day, can be a very liberating and cleansing experience. And I have created a list of what might just prove to be “Food For Thought” for developing a game plan of personal reinvention!

___

  • Spend some time in personal reflection and decide if both time and need is dictating that the time for change is NOW!
  • If you believe the time is right, develope an outline, even if it’s a mental one, which defines what you want to see happen with your life!
  • Examine honestly both your strengths as well as your weaknesses, which will impace the changes you want to effect.
  • Remain confident in your own worth and ability to achieve your goals.
  • Always remember to roll with the punches! Often your first attempt may well not be yout last! Reinventing yourself is a process and it does not happen over night. But when it happens, and it’s a right move, you will be forever changed!

____

This was exactly the process I implemented when I discovered I was being led to explore my faith. Some members of my family thought I had lost my mind, and probably were ready to call the men in those “little white coats”. But it was my choice and my decision. They would need to accept my choice, even if they never understood it. And that was just fine with me! Because the bottom line is that faith is a personal choice and a commitment between only two beings….each human being and God! I didn’t want to just pay my faith lip service. I wanted, instead, to act on what I was being called to do! James 1:25 ESV, says it perfectly! “But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”

___

For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.

Matthew 7:8 ESV

___

During this most blessed season of the year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about this Christmas!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

