Thought For The Day 12/29/12

Standard

Do You Hear Him?

___

hearing

http://creeksidehearingaidservice.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/hearing-loss1.jpg

___

The voice of the intellect is a soft one, but it does not rest until it has gained a hearing.

Sigmund Freud

http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Sigmund_Freud

___

I posted a joke yesterday on my MandysPath Facebook page called “The Boat”. It goes something like this:

There was an old man sitting on his porch watching the rain fall. Pretty soon the water was coming over the porch and into the house.

The old man was still sitting there when a rescue boat came and the people on board said, ”You can’t stay here. You have to come with us.”

The old man replied, “No, God will save me.” So the boat left.

A little while later the water was up to the second floor, and another rescue boat came, and again told the old man that he needed to come with them.

The old man again replied, “No, God will save me.” So the second boat left him again.

An hour later the water was up to the roof and a third rescue boat approached the old man, and tried to get him to come with them.

Again, the old man refused to leave stating that, “God will save me.” So the third boat left him alone once more.

Soon after, the man drowns and goes to heaven, and when he sees God he asks Him, “Why didn’t you save me?”

God replied, “You dummy, I tried. I sent three boats after you!”

___

Now I intended this joke to be funny….as it probably was intended when it was written. But as the day wore on and as I began to think about it more and more, I realized that there is a tremendous amount of truth in the punch line. How many people miss God’s boat or lifeline entirely because they either fail to hear the message or else they disregard it, choosing, instead, to continue forward through life in their own, willful way?

___

Now there are people who look at me like I’ve got three heads when I say that I can hear Him. They assume I must mean that I read His inspired word in the Bible. They don’t think it is possible that He speaks to me, to which my only reply must be Mark 4:9, ‘Then Jesus said, “He who has ears to hear, let him hear.”’ But having ears to hear and really listening are two entirely different things. I listen when He speaks to me because I not only choose to hear but I look to find His messages in the million more subtle things that take place all around me, every single second.

___

Here is a perfect illustration to emphasize the point I am trying for right now. I grew up in small town America, complete with a train station that was no longer used but when I was a child, the train continued riding the tracks all the way from Philadelphia to the Jersey Shore. And yet I never heard its rumble because I was so used to the sound, it became relegated to the background, unheard and unnoticed. However, people visiting one day commented on the clattering noise, which surprised me. But then as I thought about their words,  I began to realize that they were right, and I wondered how it was that I didn’t notice, or even think about the rumble of that train anymore.

___

Just as we develop selective hearing as we grow older, which can be the salvation of any person who has had to learn to cope with the shouts of children’s voices in play, so must we know when the shouts of a child’s play becomes a shout of pain from a skinned knee or other boo boo! Hearing God’s voice is no different. It’s simply a matter being able to distinguish between hearing those things that are pieces of information that we already know and then listening and really embracing those things that have the capacity to be life changing. And I am willing to bet that those are the times He is choosing to speak to you. Yes, remember that it is entirely possible that He is sending you a life boat. Will you recognize it as it sails near and will you know when it is time to step into it?

___

If only you carefully listen to the voice of the Lord your God, to do watchfully all these commandments which I command you this day.

Deuteronomy 15:5

___

During the up-coming days of a brand New Year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

One response »

  1. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who was doing a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your web site.

Leave a Reply

