Thought For The Day 12/30/12

Standard

The 3 C’s!

Choices, Chances, Changes!

___

3 Cs

___

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.” 

Leo Tolstoy

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/change

___

I have spent months now writing about what I have come to lovingly refer to as my personal A B C’s of life…..Always Be with Christ. Sharing those A B C’s, after all, is what I am finding myself being led to do. Then yesterday, I saw a picture on Facebook that talked about the 3 C’s of Life and I started to envision the journey I’ve been making using those guidelines instead, and I like the way the thoughts of those 3 C’s resonate with the changes that are taking place within my heart. You must make a CHOICE to take a CHANCE or your life will never CHANGE!

___

Taking a CHANCE on God by choosing a road of faith should be easier that it sometimes seems to be, and I think that is because all too often, we don’t have an idea of the direction we think we want to journey before we begin our trip. Just like a car trip we are about to embark on, we must have at least an idea of where it is we want to head and we should have given a map at least a cursory glance as to our options for the route we want to take! Now a journey to find faith is not exactly the same thing and I am certainly not saying that we all must have made a decision that is set in stone to turn toward God right from the start. Rather, I think it means that we heed the little nudges we feel, that tell us that there is something missing in our lives that might just be fulfilled, by looking in God’s direction! Then we must leave our minds and our hearts open to the possibilities that seeking out or drawing closer to our faith might just afford us. After all, as one of the founding fathers of Orthodoxy once wrote, for man to fully understand God, the degree of our comprehension would be no greater than a single grain of sand, measured against the total of all of the other grains of sand on every single beach in the entire world!

___

So begin what I hope will be the lifelong CHOICE to make a CHANGE and to walk a little nearer to God by simply taking a CHANCE with a single step in the direction you believe to be the right one, because while it is not impossible to make a u-turn should you find you have erred, the farther down the road you head, the more difficult it becomes to choose another option for your life! It is then that you may find yourself rationalizing that the wrong road is not just the correct one, but also that it is at least as good, if not better, than His way!

___

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Romans 12:1-2 ESV

___

During the up-coming days of a brand New Year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2012 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

5 responses »

  1. I was recommended this website by way of my cousin. I’m no longer certain whether or not this submit is written by him as nobody else recognise such distinct about my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

    • I love what you said and it really captures what I try to do. Some of my posts are better than others but I hope they all give someone a little “niggle” into what faith means to me and what it can mean to them too!

      Happy New Year, my friend!

      Mandy

  2. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great site.

Leave a Reply

