Thought For The Day 01/01/13

Standard

Ringing In 2013 With God!

___

New Year

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=New+Year+Pictures&id=6CBCD14E48246BE14EEF052E8F5CA2B2A8CB84CE&FORM=IQFRBA#view=detail&id=6CBCD14E48246BE14EEF052E8F5CA2B2A8CB84CE&selectedIndex=0

___

Ring out the old, ring in the new,

Ring, happy bells, across the snow:

The year is going, let him go;

Ring out the false, ring in the true.

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

1849 or 1850

___

As I begin the daunting task of beginning my planning phase for some of the things I would like to try to accomplish for 2013, I must wonder whether I would make different choices had I the power of pre-cognition or future sight. Now I’m not talking about those intuitive hunches or gut feelings that most people have experienced at least once during their lifetime. What I mean is having the absolute capacity to look ahead at my life and know with some certainty that I will not just be alive tomorrow but happy and contented and fulfilled in what I do with the life I that lead. And the thing is that there is an increasing belief among the experts, that we do, indeed, all possess this capacity, to one degree or another. But then I wonder whether the knowing is really worth it. After all, most of us would probably admit that knowing can rob us of the satisfaction that comes from the anticipation of the thing!

___

The one thing to remember is that we all do know what one hopes we will accomplish with the blessing of life He has bestowed. John 13:19 NIV says, “I am telling you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe that I am He.” So what are the things He tells us we must do?

  • We must come to Him and acknowledge that He is God.
  • We must take every opportunity we can to talk to Him by praying.
  • We must follow the laws He gave us on Sinai.
  • We must allow Him a dwelling place in our hearts and spend our days living lives that follow His principles.
  • We must share our faith with others whose lives touch ours.
  • We must LOVE!

___

It is easy to pay our faith lip service, especially on Sunday, when such behavior is expected by each of us! The key is to LOVE, OBEY, HONOR and SERVE both Him, as well as others, in His name, each and every day. And any New Years resolutions that keep these commands is a real good place to start our 2013!

___

All the nations gather together and the peoples assemble. Which of them foretold this and proclaimed to us the former things? Let them bring in their witnesses to prove they were right, so that others may hear and say, “It is true.”

Isaiah 43:9 NIV

___

During the up-coming days of a brand New Year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

 

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

