Thought For The Day 01/04/13

Standard

I’m Not A Preacher,

Just A Woman!

___

Jesus saves

http://www.jameswknox.org/

___

Woman:  the peg on which the wit hangs his jest, the preacher his text, the cynic his  grouch and the sinner his justification.

Helen  Rowland

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/preacher.html

___

How do they do it? I listen to the words of others, even friends of mine, and I feel so inspired when the homily is finished. I really wonder what secret they possess that the rest of us are not privy to. Does the magic come from within or from without? In other words is the gift one of divine inspiration or simply the blood, sweat and tears of due diligence and unceasing study? Well, whatever the catalyst, there is almost no one reading this that won’t lift up a rousing chorus of AMEN’s at an inspiring preacher! In fact, did you know that 52% of church attenders choose a church based on preaching and that when a preacher grows and becomes more dynamic, his congregation grows right along with him? 1 Timothy 4:1-2 NASB, talks about those who are charged by Him to preach His message. “I solemnly charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by His appearing and His kingdom:  preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction.” And this kind of spreading of the word is something I would dearly like to be able to do. But I ‘m not a preacher…I am only a woman!

___

My own style is a polar opposite from the “Holy Roller” and inspirational style of divine oration that can move mountains and cause the angels to weep. In fact, I am pretty much “milquetoast” in my style compared to many of the people I work closely and collaboratively with every day. I have no issues admitting this to you. My strength will always be more of a quiet guiding hand or even a gentle nudge in a new direction. And if what I write inspires you to think just a tad differently about matters of faith, well so be it! I have accomplished what I have been asked to do. And that is the wonderful thing about matters of faith. We all can give back to God and our gift, each one, is more valuable to Him than any measurable fortune we can imagine! Romans 12:6-8 NIV says it perfectly! “We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”  

___

God’s house, whether a church or a ministry, is never a place of competition or one-upmanship! All His children are called to offer their own unique gifts and talents to others we both meet and serve. Certainly the perception of faith we each leave with following our encounter with another who shares our view but whose approach is different from our own, is just as unique and different and special! And this is as it should be. There is room in the world for only one Pastor Brian Linebarger, just as there is room in the world for only one Dr. Billy Graham, just as there is room in the world for only one Mandy. But the miracle is that somehow, through His divine hand, there is also room in the world for all of us, at the same time! Yes indeed, I am not a preacher, just a woman, but I give what I can, and so can you!

___

But Moses said to the Lord, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”

Exodus 4:10-12 ESV

___

During the up-coming days of a brand New Year, please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of Superstorm Sandy. Give as much as you can, as often as you can to the following organizations. Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

The Robin Hood Relief Fund

~

121212concert

“121212” The Concert For Sandy Relief

~

Call 1-855-465- HELP (4357)

or visit

http://www.121212concert.org/

or

Twitter #121212concert

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

