Thought For The Day 01/14/13

Standard

Our God Is An Awesome God!

___

awesome

http://awesomepictures.me/

___

AWESOME
awe-some
~
adjective

1.

inspiring awe: an awesome sight.
2.

showing or characterized by awe.
3.

Slang. very impressive: That new white convertible is totally awesome.

___

The word “awesome” meaning awe-inspiring, is a word that has been around for several hundred years, but its use as an adjective the way most people associate it today, has existed for only a couple of dozen years or so. Today, awesome means  “cool” or “wow” or “what a rush!” Awesome is our go-to “superlative” for nearly any and every thing we seek to describe. However, the use of the word awesome, when thinking about God’s greatness and His love for us, makes me somehow think in terms of a volcano erupting within my very being. But instead of lava, it is pure joy that runs through me.  The thing is that I probably don’t share this inner transformation with others nearly as often as I probably should. I wonder why that is? Am I somehow embarrassed to discover that I can lose myself because of my faith? Could it be that I have always envisioned those whose evangelical zeal has the capacity to render them senseless, to be just a tad questionable, if not a downright falsehood? I know that in the depth of what I know and feel about God, that I should be able to fall on my knees and surrender my all to my Him without self-consciousness. But somehow, even though I know what my heart tells me is not just true, but is also something that contains within its fire, the capacity to change my very essence, still, taking faith that one additional step is not easy for me, nor is it for most people, I suspect!

___

Suddenly I was reminded of something as I was listening to the song I am going to share with you all below. You can call it Mandy’s “Ah Ha” moment if you will! All of the things that God offers to us are a gift. And while the gift He offers to us all is free, it was given to us at a dear cost. It cost mankind the life of a good man whose very birth was for this purpose, and this purpose alone. Still, the salvation which has been promised to us because of Christ’s substitutionary death, remains a gift, and as such, can not be forced upon us, nor can we be compelled to accept it. We must choose to receive this gift and we must tell God as much. We need not use words because we know He sees into every heart. But sometimes it helps to share the words openly and honestly through true communion and prayer with Him. However, once you do, you are forever changed.

___

The Spirit of God lives within you, now and forever more! Romans 8: 10-11 NASB says, “If Christ is in you, though the body is dead because of sin, yet the spirit is alive because of righteousness. But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.” You need never fear being separated from God. Romans 10: 9-10 NASB tells us this! “that if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved;  for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.” And just in case you fear losing the salvation you are promised, never forget that because it was a gift from God, and it was given, not earned, there is now nothing you can ever do to lose it. Gifts, once given, remain ours always. How we use those gifts is another thing altogether, and best left to ponder another time!

___

OUR GOD IS AN AWESOME GOD!

written by Rich Mullins

~

When He rolls up His sleeves, He ain’t just puttin’ on the Ritz
(our God is an awesome God)
There is thunder in His footsteps, and lightning in His fist
(our God is an awesome God)
Well, the Lord wasn’t joking when He kicked ’em out of Eden
It wasn’t for no reason that He shed his blood
His return is very close and so you better be believing
that our God is an awesome God

~

Our God(our God) is an awesome God
He reigns(He reigns) from heaven above
With wisdom(with wisdom) pow’r and love
our God is an awesome God

~

And when the sky was starless in the void of the night
(our God is an awesome God)
He spoke into the darkness and created the light
(our God is an awesome God)
Judgment and wrath he poured out on Sodom
Mercy and grace He gave us at the cross
I hope that we have not too quickly forgotten that
our God is an awesome God

~

Our God(our God) is an awesome God
He reigns(He reigns) from heaven above
With wisdom(with wisdom) pow’r and love
our God is an awesome God

Our God(our God) is an awesome God
He reigns(He reigns) from heaven above
With wisdom(with wisdom) pow’r and love
our God is an awesome God

Our God(our God) is an awesome God
He reigns(He reigns) from heaven above
With wisdom(with wisdom) pow’r and love
our God is an awesome God

___

OUR GOD IS AN AWESOME GOD!

sung by Michael W. Smith

http://youtu.be/M61uOkf8-nk 

___

The first days of a brand New Year have passed, and while it may be hard to believe, there are still people living in the area devastated by Superstorm Sandy that remain without power! Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of horrific event. Please consider sending a Gift Card to the following organization. A thousand cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

