Thought For The Day 01/19/13

Standard

Faith…A Hospital For Sinners!

___

Sinners

http://www.trippist.com/2006/07/

___

“God creates out of nothing. Wonderful you say. Yes, to be sure, but he does what is still more wonderful: he makes saints out of sinners.” 

Søren Kierkegaard

  The Journals of Kierkegaard

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/sinners

___

I find it rather odd that so many people in the world continue to wear their blinders when it comes to matters of faith. So often these are the very same people who either choose not to see what is usually right in front of their nose, or else they fail to recognize the signs that proclaim that faith is there for everyone! Somehow, despite the explosive growth of Christianity worldwide, in terms of the numbers of not just denominations, but of places to worship, as well, and thanks to the ability to worship on-line via social media and televised worship, Christianity is growing and morphing into a very different presence that the one that most westernized peoples have become accustomed to. And this is an absolutely wonderful thing! You see, for the first time in recorded history, there is validation for the famous quotation attributed to a host of notables, from  Morton Kelsey to L.L. Nash to Abigale Van Buren (who just passed away at the age of 94, by the way), depending on the source you are checking. But the quote I am referring to really needs no famous name attached to it, because the words are powerful enough to stand on their own! “The Church is not a museum for saints, but a hospital for sinners.” Indeed, faith is now reaching, touching and out there for everyone to grab a hold of!
___
Now while I say that we are given validation today by these words, this is not the first time their meaning has been taught to man. All we need do is remember a very important lesson that Jesus shared with His followers and which is recorded in Matthew 9:12-13 NIV, On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Don’t you just love it when we think we have found so much bang for our 21st century buck only to discover that it is really is a bang for the shekel (or whatever Roman currency existed for paying taxes 2000 years ago)! The bottom line is that we do not belong to a Church or practice a faith because we are good or holy, but rather because we are sinners. Mankind is flawed and weak, and needy and blessedly and humanly imperfect!
___
The extent and scope of our sin does not mean a hill of beans if we are truly remorseful for having committed that sin, and if we come to Him to ask for His forgiveness and blessing! We all have the chance to be reborn or saved. But do not mistake this for being born again, which, to my mind, implies that we are incapable of sin which is certainly not anything that the human can lay claim to while they exist in corporeal form! Yes, I am reborn, and I am human and I sin! But the one thing that I know since I began my journey of faith in March of 2011, is that He knows my sin and forgives me anyway. And I know He offers me a place one day where the answers to all of the questions I have ever had will be just as clear and obvious as they have been cloudy and unanswerable here on earth! And when the scales are lifted from my eyes and knowing enters my heart, I might just have to slap myself on the head the moment the doubts and questions disappear, and say, “Good grief…..what could I possibly have been thinking?”

___

Well, it is now 2013, and while it may be hard for you to believe, there are still people living in the area devastated by Superstorm Sandy back on October 29th, 2012, that remain without essential services that you and I are taking for granted today!

Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! 

Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can!

Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

