Thought For The Day 01/29/13

Standard

Goodbye Old Me, Hello New Me! 

___

letting-go

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-P9LEIPCjNkA/TY-831t6w-I/AAAAAAAAAfs/1PIhb3qafUQ/s1600/letting-go.jpg

___

Letting go has never been easy. But holding on can be as difficult. Yet strength is measured not by holding on, but by letting go.

Author Unknown

http://www.quotesarelife.com/sayings/love-quotes/767/moving-on-quotes.html

___

Not long ago I talked about “Let Go, Let God” and I wanted to expand on that thought a bit in light of the recent nightclub fire tragedy in Brazil. Now, in doing so, I am thinking more in terms of the survivors, not those lost, because if you are a person of true faith, you know in your heart that the time of pain and agony suffered by the lost is at an end. You know they are now held in the love and safety of the arms of the Almighty. Yes, that may be small comfort today for those they leave behind and who are just beginning to mourn their loved ones and a life forever changed by the absence of those they love. But it is the physical, mental and emotional lives of the survivors, many of whom have suffered horrible burns, who will bear forever more, a physical reminder of the day that they can never be rid of! They are the ones who look into the mirror at a body changed by scars and wounds and even, perhaps, a lifetime of physical pain! And once they pass beyond the stages of anger, denial, bargaining, and depression, it will likely be harder to reach the point of acceptance because to do so means looking in that mirror one last time and saying goodbye forever to the person they once were and saying hello to a stranger they have yet to really know and understand!
___
Now if the stages I mentioned seem vaguely familiar it is because they are the very same stages those who are dying must pass through, and for that matter, those the dying leave behind, as well. However, the difference is that, while life is changed for all of these people, those who bear the scars of a “disfigurement”, especially when it comes upon them suddenly and unexpectedly, must learn to like and love themselves all over again! And when we are used to a particular appearance and body image, being forever changed is a life altering experience. Now this can refer to any major change of self such as an amputation or a mastectomy or even a paralysis due to accident or illness. And that is one that I can wholly commiserate with, having suffered from a paralysis as the result of a neurological disease, myself. Yes, I have recovered, through hard work and medication and therapy, although I will never feel my legs again, but it was the looks and preconceived notions I elicited from others, especially strangers, that drove me to want to hide myself away from the prying eyes that seem compelled to stare.
___
I was incredibly lucky. I had a loving and devoted support system who continued to validate my worth, especially during the times when I could not see it myself. But not everyone is as lucky as I was and these are the ones that must turn to another support system to help them rediscover their worth! I once read in a mentoring publication the following: God makes each one of us with an ability; society creates the “dis”. So often, society seems to need to apply a “dis” label to someone in the misguided belief that this will automatically make them both know and acknowledge what “caste” they belong to. But, rather than somehow diminishing the one it was aimed toward, labels only diminish the one casting the aspersions in the first place. Fortunately for man, God sees no such distinction nor did his son, Jesus Christ.
___
There are two phrases that came from the mouth of Christ himself when men wanted to stone the the audulteress, which have endured the test of time. Both “let him who is without sin, cast the first stone” (John 8:7) and “go, and sin no more” (John 8:11) have found their way into common usage, which reminds us that we are all created equally in His eyes, whether scarred somehow, in body or mind. And if the Bible can tell us about our worth as often as it does (from Psalm 139:13-14 ESV, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.” to Luke 17:3-4 ESV  “Pay attention to yourselves! If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him, and if he sins against you seven times in the day, and turns to you seven times, saying, ‘I repent,’ you must forgive him.”), why do we not see it for ourselves? We need only turn God’s faith in us inward and regain the faith and love we must have within ourselves! And when we are changed on the outside, there is one thing that never changes…our heart and our soul. And it is these two things, after all, that are the measure of a person! And when we bid the old physical us goodbye, we really are saying hello to an old friend!
___

Who shall ascend the hill of the Lord? And who shall stand in his holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart, who does not lift up his soul to what is false and does not swear deceitfully. He will receive blessing from the Lord and righteousness from the God of his salvation.

Psalm 24:3-5 ESV

___

Well, it is now 2013, and while it may be hard for you to believe, there are still people living in the area devastated by Superstorm Sandy back on October 29th, 2012, that remain without essential services that you and I are taking for granted today! Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

