Thought For The Day 02/09/13

Standard

Que Sera, Sera? Not!

___

And this photograph of two best friends on a swing.

___

que sera, sera

(Spanish phrase)

~

Part of Speech: noun

Definition: whatever will be will be

Synonyns: whatever happens, whatever may happen

~

Part of Speech: adjective

Definition: condemned, hopeless

Synonyns: bedeviled, bewitched, convicted, cursed, cut down, damned, dead duck, destroyed, done, done for, fated, fey, foreordained, ill-fated, ill-omened, in the cards, kiss of death, lost, luckless, menaced, overthrown, overwhelmed, predestined, reprobate, ruined, sentenced, star-crossed, sunk, suppressed, threatened, thrown down, undone, unfortunate, unredeemed, wrecked

Antonyms: hopeful, lucky

http://thesaurus.com/browse/que+sera+sera

___

I remember as a child being mesmerized by the voice of Doris Day! Actually, everything about her was mesmerizing! Her looks, her manner, her acting skill and even her humanity when it came to causes, was fascinating to me and provided proof that no matter how fortunate you are, it is the qualities of your heart and what you give back to the rest of the world that matters. You see, even if the situation might seem hopeless, it need not make one feel hopeless or act hopelessly! And therein lies the proof that the words in the title of this post, made famous in a song written by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans, and which was introduced in the 1956 Alfred Hitchcock movie starring Miss Day, “The Man Who Knew Too Much”, are really pure bunk! It is NEVER what will be but rather, it is what we choose to make, that measures our lives.

___

Now I am not so naive as to believe that we accomplish these things alone. Nor do I think that their outline is not already part of God’s plan for us. But the execution and incorporation of them as an integral part of the way we live our lives, is wholly and entirely up to us to implement. Just look at the above list of Synonyms for this phrase. I defy you to read them and think, ” Yep…these are attributes I want to embrace and adopt as a motto for living!” 1 Corinthians 3:8-10 NIV (UK) reminds us that it is our choices that reap our rewards in this life….AND in the next! The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labour. For we are fellow workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building. By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as a wise builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should build with care.”

___

God sets the wheels of our lives in motion. In fact, He opens doors for us to walk through and they are doors that Satan can not shut in our faces! But the doors are many and the choice of which one to pass through is solely ours to make. He will be by our side as we choose but he is there only as our guide and perhaps even our moral compass. He does NOT dictate the choice for us but instead, relies on our using the attributes He has programmed each of us with, such as our capacity to think, decide and choose for ourselves! The consequences of those choices we will reap, whether we choose life or death, love or hate, darkness or light, sin or virtue! After all, do we not appreciate and embrace more fully when we get the things we want, especially if we also need them? God is the same way. Think about it this way…..would He WANT you, if you did not want Him? Here is a verse that reinforces this fact! 1 Corinthians 15:10 NIV, ” But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.”

___

But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.

James 2:18 ESV

___

It is now February of 2013, more than 3 months since Superstorm Sandy struck on October 29, 2012, and yet there are still people living in Staten Island that remain without the essential services that you and I are taking for granted today, even as Winter weather is now descending. Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

2 responses »

    • It is wonderful to find fellow writers stopping by and checking out my posts! You all are my inspirations to try to make every post a bit better than the one before. It doesn’t always happen but I try! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

