Thought For The Day 02/11/13

Standard

Where Did It Begin?

___

starting line

___

Genuine beginnings begin within us, even when they are brought to out attention by external opportunities.

William Throsby Bridges

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/beginnings.html

___

In just a few days I will have posted my 700th “Thought” and if you had come to me back on March 25th, 2011, with a gift of prognostication, and told me that this day would one day arrive, I probably would have told you that you were crazy. Coincidentally, I have also been asked a great deal lately about what it takes to be able to write something both meaningful and enlightening day after day. And the answer is not really as easy as you might think. You see, I have absolutely no idea! My posts are generally 90% inspiration since I have written them based on everything I have seen and heard; from a major 24 hour news network headline to a picture someone shares on a social media site to an email I receive from family and friends. Next, I think about the faith implications each idea presents and if I can support the idea with a lesson, then I start typing! And although there are people who think it’s a lot of hard work, my day and what it is that I do is a whole lot easier that what Christ had to do to share His lessons with others.

___

Discounting the years he spent as a child, we know that Christ spent approximately 3 years traveling the region as He shared His Father’s message to man. We know He did not travel every day and there were times he remained for an extended period of time in one community. Now I wrote a blog last May that reports that Jesus walked 3,125 miles in those 3 years. However, if we can “guesstimate” that when He walked, it was at a pace of about 16 miles per day and that He traveled perhaps 300 days out of the 1,095 days that make up that 3 year period, he would have walked about closer to 4,800 miles (or 25,344,000 feet). We know He traveled from his home in Nazareth to Jordan where He was baptized, to Mount Hermon where the transfiguration occurred, to Cana where He performed the first miracle, to Jerusalem and Galilee, where He spent the greatest number of His days. “Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom, and healing every disease and sickness among the people.” Matthew 4:23 NIV

___

I wake up and travel the 30 odd feet it takes to walk from my bedroom to my laptop. Sometimes I don’t have to walk at all, when my lap top finds its way into my bedroom or the living room couch. Now yes, there are things I do that take me out of my home, but I have a car to drive the 40 odd miles I travel back and forth in fulfilling my responsibilities, so I’m not even going to take those into account! Now in thinking only about my walking by foot to enable my writing and nothing else, I have only managed to walk in the neighborhood of 21,000 feet over the almost 2 years I have been sharing my “Thought”! Kind of pales by comparison, don’t you think? However, in 2012, my posts were read by people in over 150 countries. I average between 25 and 130 views every day. And since that day 700 posts ago, my posts have been read 24,263 times. Which then makes me wonder something. Exactly how many people would have been able to share Christ’s message if their had been such a thing as the internet 2000 years ago?

___

God gifts all people with their own special talents. How it is we use those talents is another matter completely. But that we must consider His gift and invitation to partake of his blessings, remains is His command to us. What we choose is ours to decide, but if we choose service to Him, we do so because we can not help ourselves! Just as man must draw breath to live, so must some give to Him all they can using the particular gift He bestows. Whether the calling is to a tiny church in Wyoming, a cathedral in Rome or a daily faith based blog over the internet, all fulfill what He asks of us, and all are equally worthy in our Father’s eyes! Ephesians 4:11-13 NIV says it far better than I ever could! “So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.”

___

Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness.

Matthew 9:35 NIV

___

It is now February of 2013, more than 3 months since Superstorm Sandy struck on October 29, 2012, and yet there are still people living in Staten Island that remain without the essential services that you and I are taking for granted today, even as Winter weather is now descending. Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

