Thought For The Day 02/14/13

Standard

The 10th Commandment!

___

ten commandments

http://beta.photobucket.com/images/ten%20commandments/

___

“Whatever worldly thing we may covet – zealously striving to obtain and then retain – never seems to bring an end to our desires. Covetousness, envy, jealousy, and greed always escalate into a vicious spiral, as we seek greater and greater gratification but find less and less contentment. . . . Striving to acquire the things of the world not only does not bring lasting happiness and peace, but it drives us to seek more. When “all we’ve ever wanted” is grounded in the temporal trappings of this world, it is never enough!”

Brent Top

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/coveting

___

It would have been easier for me to write about love since today, Valentine’s Day, is a time when we focus on the things that tie our hearts to that of another. And then I saw something and I said the words that changed what I knew I would write today. They were words that I wished I could have taken back the moment they left my lips. In a single thoughtless utterance, I committed a sin that has been an absolute since the moment Moses carried the Ten Commandments down from Mt Sinai! The fact that it is also a sin that perhaps 95% of the human race has probably committed at one time or another, brought me little comfort! You see, I desired something that I had seen and I was very vocal about how much I would love for it to be mine! Dare I say the word? I “coveted”!

___

The tug at my heart was immediate because, the very moment the words left my mouth, the vision of a tiny face we all know from a wonderful story about how a miserly man learns some hard lessons from the Ghosts, came instantly to mind. And it was not the “Bah-Humbug” of Ebenezer that I recalled, but the wide-eyed wonder of the wee Cratchit children the moment they spied the tiny goose that would fill not just their tiny tummy’s but their spirit, as well. You see, they knew something I had forgotten….they knew gratitude for what they had. They were grateful despite having only the barest of life’s necessities, whereas I, who live a comfortable, middle-class life, wanted not just that which I did not need, but something that, in hind sight, I really had no use for! “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male or female servant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.” Exodus 20:17.

___

The fact that it is the very last of God’s commands does not diminish its importance. In fact, we all know that in life, it is usually the best that is saved for last, and so I must wonder if He chose this place on the tablets to discuss the sin of COVETING, because He knew that this last one would be the hardest for the heart of man to remember! But remember we must, because we are told that its sin has the capacity to keep us from collecting our Heavenly reward when our earthly lives are over! (1 Corinthians 6:10, “…nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.”) It is perhaps His only command that looks to our heart….not by forbidding the act, but by forbidding the desire to commit the act!

___

So how do we correct this very human flaw of our nature as human beings? By remembering that because we are human, not committing the sin is more than we can manage on our own. However, what we can manage is not continuing the sin once we have realized our error! We can look to Him and His Spirit, to empower us in our efforts as we try to live the lives we must, that follow His laws. It is the reward we received from the sacrifice His Son made, which reconciles us to God and allows us to overcome our human faults by relying on His spirit rather than our own strengths!

___

Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say: “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?”

Hebrews 13: 5-6 NKJV

___

It is now February of 2013, more than 3 months since Superstorm Sandy struck on October 29, 2012, and yet there are still people living in Staten Island that remain without the essential services that you and I are taking for granted today, even as Winter weather is now descending. Please remember the millions of our brothers and sisters who continue to suffer from the effects of this horrific storm. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

