Thought For The Day 03/02/13

Standard

Losing Sight Of All That Matters!

___

(c) by the artist, courtesy of UCR/California Museum of Photography

Gerardo Nigenda, Entre lo invisible y lo tangible, llegando a la homeostasis emocional Born in Oaxaca, Mexico, the 42-year-old Nigenda calls his images “Fotos cruzados,” or “intersecting photographs.” As he shoots, he stays aware of sounds, memories, and other sensations. Then he uses a Braille writer to punch texts expressing those the things he felt directly into the photo. The work invokes an elegant double blindness: Nigenda needs a sighted person to describe the photo, but the sighted rely on him to read the Braille. The title of this work translates roughly to: “Between the invisible and the tangible, reaching an emotional homeostasis.”

Read more: http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1897093,00.html#ixzz2MHZDNEKP

___

I think we all suffer from acute blindness at times. Life is a constant journey of trying to open your eyes. I’m just beginning my journey, and my eyes aren’t fully open yet.

Olivia Thirlby

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/blindness.html#ja1pP86lFVc5Pp1K.99

___

Last night I lost my sight. I also lost my sense of taste and smell as well. And these things were lost for a number of hours! Now I did not lose these things physically, but metaphorically. You see, last night a system wide glitch caused us to lose our ability connect to the internet! Even resorting to the outdated mode of dial-up services failed! And I must admit that for a time I felt absolutely impotent. I was unable to write here on my site or even connect to my MandysPath page on my social networking site. And just imagine trying (unsuccessfully, I might add) to explain to a three-year-old who is watching his favorite programming on a children’s website famous for a mouse that is almost as old as my dad is, and a character that I adored when I was his age, why the computer suddenly stopped working! Not a happy time in our household, as far as I was concerned.

___

Suddenly I seemed to be jerked awake! Suddenly, my mind was transported to those in the Northeast who continue to be without all of those technologies that I take for granted, and am whining about….at least on the inside! Yes, I was properly put in my place at what I can only believe was God’s whisper in my ear admonishing me for my selfishness. And just then, I realized that something rather amazing was happening. My husband and I were actually spending quality time together. Together in the same room and watching something funny together on the TV, we found ourselves talking and laughing…..together! Suddenly, I was faced with a reality that I had lost sight of. In front of me was proof positive that the technological things created by the hand of man, that are part of our everyday lives in 2013, are really dividing us and the family dynamic that is so wanting in our world!

___

God’s wonders…..each a masterpiece greater that anything conceivable by the human mind. But looking at the heavens, the earth, the seas, the plants and the animals, each given life and a purpose by His hand, I have to believe it was His creation of the family that tells us all the most about Him. Genesis 1: 27-28 NKJV, “So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. Then God blessed them, and God said to them, ‘Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.'”

___

The family dynamic gives man a forum for fulfilling our hearts desire to share all that we say, do and have, with another. It provides a safe haven for our littlest miracles of life and teaches and shows them God’s love, experienced both through their caretakers actions as well as their teachings. Proverbs 1: 8-9 NIV, “Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. They are a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.” Even His only begotten Son was reared and nurtured to fulfill His destiny within the family unit, learning to love and to be loved by parents who knew that the gift they were given would only be their’s for a very short time. Luke 2:52 NKJV, “And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.” And it is family that is the single thing that guarantees that the “Circle of Life” continues forward into a history that has yet to be written!

___

Last night reminded me of everything that is really important in my life…and in yours, as well! And it’s not the THINGS that we have. What’s important to us? I mean what’s REALLY important to us as we journey through the life we are blessed to live? It’s the PEOPLE who journey through our days with us and by our sides. Yes, it is our friends but, even more important to our lives, it is our FAMILY, no matter how it is that we define that to mean. John Berman, newscaster and now the co-host of CNN’s “Early Start”, once wrote, when defining what constitutes a family, the following thought. And it is so very true! Every single, brilliantly written word of it!

So in the end, when it comes to defining “Family Ties” and determining “Family Matters,” it’s “All in the Family.”

___

“But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.”

1 Timothy 5:8 KJV

___

It is now March of 2013, more than 3 months since Superstorm Sandy struck on October 29, 2012, and yet there are still people living in Staten Island that remain without the basic necessities for living that you and I take for granted. Lives will continue be impacted for years to come. But you can help! Please consider sending a Gift Card to the organization listed below. Thousands of cards have been distributed since November but millions more are needed. Give as much as you can, as often as you can! Your gift might just mean a family who has lost everything might just have something to smile about!

___

Staten Island Gift Cards For Relief
~
~
For information, visit
or

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

