Thought For The Day 03/10/13

Standard

 The Need To Ask For Forgiveness 

___

forgiveness

http://www.nathanrouse.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/forgiveness.jpg

___

APOLOGY

How do I tell you I’m sorry –
With a gesture, a look, a touch?
How is it I never realized
I hurt you so very much?

I do not ask forgiveness,
A comfort I’ll never deserve.
I merely want to let you know,
But I cannot find the nerve.

To finally confront you, face-to-face,
To look you in the eye,
To face your wrath, your apathy –
Too terrified to try.

You called me selfish, I turned away,
I festered and I fled;
Cutting and wounding and lashing out,
Just to see if you bled.

Betraying and deceiving you,
I surely had no right
To snatch away such a precious gem;
A dark thief in the night.

3 months and forever passed
To bring us to this day,
When I present these simple words
I never thought to say.

 The time has come, it’s long past due,
To put aside my fear;
Would this confession torture you,
Or have you longed to hear?

To hear those forbidden words,
To vanquish all the pain,
To understand my dearest wish:
To know you once again.

The months aged me remarkably,
Though they have not made me wise;
I do know I erred irrevocably –
For that I apologize.

Author Unknown

http://boardofwisdom.com/togo/?start=31&viewid=1005&listname=forgiveness

___

Who of you would willingly deny that today, the life we live is an “open book” more than ever before in all of history? It even seems as if there is no hiding those sins we commit. After all, are we not as apt to find some media outlet reporting that the President or Prime Minister has gone to “powder their nose” as we are to hear news of the state of the union? A crude analogy, you think? Perhaps, but I doubt any of you would deny the fact that the value of privacy has been forgotten and instead, our every move seems to somehow have become the fodder of headlines. So how can we not feel as if our souls are as bare to the world’s scrutiny as would our bodies be if we were to strip naked in Macy’s front window during rush hour? Somehow, amid all of this lack of personal space and privacy, is it any surprise that we find it all the more difficult to beg forgiveness of those around us for the wrongs we commit? Yes, we can, and we should, always ask God, but there are times man must ask this of man. What other way do we have to atone for that which we recognize as being a wrong or a falsehood perpetrated against someone else? Hebrews 10:26 ESV, “For if we go on sinning deliberately after receiving the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins,”

___

Yes, we know that Christ died for mankind’s sins, past, present and future, but this does not negate our need to ask, and especially to the Almighty. It almost seems as if we poor mere mortals are in a perpetual state of needing forgiveness, doesn’t it? Well we are, because we must continually face the fact that the will of God regarding the rightness and wrongness of our actions is more powerful than is the will of man. And while we may know the truth of the matter in our hearts, our pride sometimes keeps us from coming to the same realization in our heads! And that is what asking forgiveness does. It helps us to remember the reasons why we must effect a change that will once again put us back on the path which will bring us close to Him! And yes, asking for forgiveness may be a man imposed burden, and yes, we may wonder why it is we need one more thing to carry around on our shoulders. After all, isn’t the weight of the world that we carry heavy enough? Well, the fact of the matter is that asking forgiveness actually lifts the weight of that burden FROM our shoulders, whether it is asking man or God! Matthew 11:28 ESV, “Come to me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

___

“I even I, am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake; and I will not remember your sins. Put Me in remembrance; let us contend together; state your case, that you may be acquitted.

Isaiah 43: 25-26 ESV

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

