Thought For The Day 03/11/13

Standard

Building Up or Tearing Down?

___

tearing down

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/77/175117410_3a57f16c90.jpg

___

Have you had a kindness shown?
Pass it on; ’twas not given for thee alone,
Pass it on; Let it travel down the years,
Let it wipe another’s tears,
Till in Heaven the deed appears,
Pass it on.

Henry Burton

http://quotationsbook.com/quote/21948/

___

I notice that, in life, tearing down walls, buildings, bridges and other physical structures is much more easily accomplished than the effort and skill it required to build them up in the first place. The philosophy of things being easier are also better has become almost universally accepted as “acceptable” for man and it’s meaning so pervasive, it was even adopted and promoted by a grunge rock band from the late 90’s, called Offspring, who wrote, “I’d rather tear things down…Than build them up…It’s easier that way…”. Why have we allowed this laziness of mind, body, and yes, even spirit, to even enter our thinking? It is never, ever, better for man to choose only to tear things down, because, when all is said and done, you have nothing substantive to show for your work and your life’s effort than a pile of junk that is meaningless and serves no purpose! And therein lies the biggest issue. God has never intended for man to live any aspect of his life devoid of purpose!

___

We may never really know what His purpose is for our lives, any more than any of us can say we know the mind of God. What we do know is that there is no part of the universe that is random, therefore, we can state with certainty that it had to have been created by an intelligence far greater than the human mind can fathom. And it is this, and this alone, which supports that there is a purpose and a reason for our very existence! So if we believe God is that intelligence and that He had purpose for all that He created, how can we then be content to sit back and do nothing with the gift He had given to us? I know I can’t which is why I write and teach and seek to share my heart and my faith as I understand it to mean, with you all everyday. You see, when all is said and done, we all become better for having shared our thoughts, our minds, our hearts, and our world, together!

___

Godvine offered a story yesterday on their site that speaks of this very thing. I saw it and shared it on my social media page, before I realized that it’s message would be my gift to you as my “Thought” today! If you wish to receive some feel-good videos and stories every day from Godvine, just visit their website and register with them. The link is: http://www.godvine.com/.

___

Growing Good Corn

by: Steve Goodier

James Bender, in his book “How to Talk Well“, illustrates how it benefits everyone when we mutually help each other. He relates a story of a farmer who grew award-winning corn. Each year he entered his best corn in the regional fair where it won a blue ribbon.

One year a newspaper reporter interviewed him to learn about how he grew blue-ribbon corn year after year. The reporter discovered something interesting. He learned that the farmer actually shared his best seed corn with his neighbors.

“How can you afford to share your best seeds with your neighbors when they are entering corn in competition against yours each year?” the reporter asked.

“Why sir,” said the farmer, “didn’t you know? The wind picks up pollen from the ripening corn and swirls it from field to field. If my neighbors grow inferior corn, cross-pollination will steadily degrade the quality of my corn. If I am to grow good corn, I must help my neighbors grow good corn.”

It’s a simple and important principle. His corn cannot improve unless his neighbor’s corn also improves. He cannot succeed simply by watching out for Number One. He succeeds best by helping his neighbors succeed. That’s mutualism.

And I am aware that it goes for me, too. Do I want to succeed? Then I must help others to succeed.

Do I want to live in peace and harmony? Then I need to help my neighbors also live in peace, and the very peace they experience will add to my own.

Do I want to live meaningfully and well? Then I should help to enrich the lives of others, for my own happiness and well-being is bound up in the lives I touch.

In other words, if I want to grow good corn, I need to help my neighbors grow good corn. Call it mutualism. Call it a principle of success. Call it a law of life. I only know that none of us truly wins until we all win.

___

“What do you prefer? Shall I come to you with a whip, or in love and with a gentle spirit?”

1 Corinthians 4:21 NIV

~

“I am writing this to you before I come, hoping that I won’t need to deal severely with you when I do come. For I want to use the authority the Lord has given me to strengthen you, not to tear you down.”

2 Corinthians 13:10 NLT

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

