Thought For The Day 03/16/13

Standard

Which Would You Rather Believe?

___

believe

___

“I would rather live my life as if there is a God and die to find out there isn’t, than live my life as if there isn’t and die to find out there is.”

Albert Camus

~

Seen in a public post on the Facebook page of Friar Jeffrie Wallace

https://www.facebook.com/friar.j.l.wallace?fref=ts

___

All too often we find ourselves trying to explain what our faith and God’s very real presence in our lives, means to us. And you would think that, as someone who writes about faith every day, it would be an easy thing for me to do! But it’s not, for me at least, and I suspect, for so many others like me, either. How do you put into words a feeling that makes your heart dance? How do you explain the joy you feel when something touches the inner most part of your very being? How do you explain LOVE?

___

You can’t see love, nor touch or taste it. You can only FEEL the wonder and magic of love. And yet, there are some people who are not as blessed as I have been to have discovered both God’s love and man’s love. So, in an effort at reaching everyone who has yet to know Him and His love for us, we must liken all of these ethereal intangibles to something EVERY human being has felt…..air and wind.

___

Neither air nor wind has shape, form or mass, which is the standard by which we measure the reality of things in our world. However, that we can not see or touch them, does not make their presence in our lives any less real or tangible! I described as much only days ago in my “Thought For The Day 03/08/13”, in this single paragraph:

We can not see wind, although we can see what it does to trees in the forest or clouds in the sky. We can not hear wind, although we can hear the effects is has as it passes between the skyscrapers in our cities or the corn stalks in our fields. But we can feel the wind as it tousles our hair and dances on our cheeks. So does the fact that it is only something we can only feel mean that it is not real? Of course not! Well faith is the same thing. We can not see faith but we can see the smile it brings to the faces of those who know its joy. We can not hear faith’s sound but we hear it’s promises through the words contained in the Testaments. But we can feel faith as it enters our hearts and transforms the part of us that is our humanity.

___

Believing in God and His promises to us somehow seems to combine all of the best parts of the both of us into a magical treasure, which He then places inside our hearts for safekeeping! And while we may occasionally fall from grace because we are human, if we think of God and love as a unifying and strengthening force for good, then whether we think we believe in Him, or not, matters little. If we strive to use the treasure we hold in our hearts to be good and honest and trustworthy and dependable people within our families, network of friends and in our communities, and if we try to love one another always, well then, I can promise you, that even if you don’t believe in God, He believes in YOU!

___

“I BELIEVE”

I believe for every drop of rain that falls
A flower grows,
I believe that somewhere in the darkest night
A candle glows,
I believe for everyone who goes astray,
Someone will come to show the way,
I believe, I believe.
~
I believe above the storm a smallest prayer
Will still be heard,
I believe that someone in the great somewhere
Hears every word,
Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf, or see the sky,
Then I know why,
I believe.
~
Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf, or see the sky,
Then I know why,
I believe.

~

Click below to see the You Tube of “I BELIEVE” performed by Frankie Laine.

___

Copyright © 2011-2013 “MandysPath” Ministry

About Mandy Bruscella

Mandy's Story: As a Registered Professional Nurse with Certification in a number of specialties including home care, I was afforded the opportunity of working closely with various Social Service Agencies in NY and NJ. ~ A lifelong Christian, I was ordained as a Presbyterian deacon in 1993 and, after relocating to SC in 2000, elected to become ordained as a non-denominational minister. ~ I established "MandysPath" Ministry in 2011. "MandysPath" Ministry is a member of Pacific Life Church, El Sobrante, CA, network of ministries. ~ I direct an outreach ministry in an alternative setting, providing spiritual care to a congregation of more than 500 people from around the world via the Internet. ~ As part of this outreach, I write a daily faith based blog. In March, 2012 I was asked to become a board member of Heroes For Children which is a non-profit foundation, established to assists the Guardian ad Litem program of Horry County, SC. Guardians ad Litem are a group of court appointed advocates who represent the best interests of children in Family Court proceedings involving allegations of abuse or neglect. Working closely with these men and women who make a difference in the lives of children, I completed training and have been sworn in to serve as a Guardian ad Litem for the state of South Carolina . ~ I have been married since 1975 to a wonderful man, Daniel. I have a son Daniel and his wife Melissa who live in NYC. My daughter Sabrina and my grandson Landon live here in SC. ~ My father Harold continues to share his wisdom with me and is responsible for many of the ideas I write about!

Leave a Reply

